Librarian Contact
MacID
To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, as well as the wireless Internet network, you must use your MacID and password.
You can also use your MacID to access wireless internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam.
Student Email
Your email account will be automatically created for you when you become eligible for studentmail. All currently enrolled McMaster full time and part time students are eligible for studentmail.
Your email address will take the form of MacID@mcmaster.ca. Please visit https://www.studentmail.mcmaster.ca to login to your email account.
Purpose of the LibGuide
This LibGuide serves as a resource for textbooks, journals, databases, online resources, overviews, guidelines etc., for those in postgraduate medicine. The guide is divided into specialties, which can be found via the tabs to the left. On this home page, you will find information on searching, lists of useful databases and mobile apps, and other medical resources.
Searching
- How to Search the Catalogue on a TopicThis video shows how to search the catalogue on a topic
- How to Search the Catalogue for a Journal or Book TitleLearn how to search the catalogue for a journal or book title using the advanced search.
- How to Search the LiteratureThis LibGuide will teach you how to construct and execute a search, outlining everything from formulating your research question using the PICO(T) framework to managing your search results
- Database TutorialsThis guide contains tutorials and videos on how to use various online databases to perform literature searches. Databases explored include: OVID Medline, PubMed, CINAHL, Web of Science, Cochrane Library, and Google Scholar.
- Finding Grey LiteratureStart your Grey Literature search with this guide containing resources and strategies for discovering research produced outside traditional commercial or academic publishing channels.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowSocial gerontology, aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. Contains abstracts of articles, books, government and research reports, dissertations, conference proceedings, gray literature, newsletters, and educational videos.
*USEFUL FOR: GERIATRIC MEDICINE - CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
*USEFUL FOR: ANESTHESIA - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowBiomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
- Emcare This link opens in a new windowEmcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
*USEFUL FOR: EMERGENCY MEDICINE - Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research methods in video format. Please note that McMaster has access only to the Biology section. *USEFUL FOR: LABORATORY MEDICINE
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the e-CPS.
*USEFUL FOR: ANESTHESIA, LABORATORY MEDICINE - Scholar's Portal This link opens in a new windowContains over 50 million articles from over 20,000 full text journals covering many disciplines.
- Mobile Apps LibguideThis guide provides instructions for downloading and accessing content via our mobile apps.
- Best PracticeA decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
- Calculate by QxMDCalculate is a next-generation medical calculator and decision-support tool freely available to the medical community. Included in this resource are over 150 calculators and decision-support tools.
- CINAHLCumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Clinical KeyProvides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- DynaMedEvidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention and drug information.
- MedScapeMedscape from WebMD (medscape.com) is the leading medical resource most used by physicians, medical students, nurses and other healthcare professionals for clinical information. The Medscape app is the highest rated, fastest growing free mobile app for healthcare professionals with over 4 million registered users.
- MicromedexEvidence-based clinical tool that includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information. Includes mobile apps for drug reference, IV compatibility, and drug interactions.
*USEFUL FOR: GERIATRIC MEDICINE, INTERNAL MEDICINE, LABORATORY MEDICINE - OmnioDesigned with the healthcare professional’s clinical workflow in mind, Omnio gives you quick and easy access to important and relevant medical information. The free app includes access to the Merck Manual, calculators, a symptom checker, a pill identifier and a drug guide.
- PubMed for HandheldsOffers PubMed searching as well as PubMed’s Systematic Reviews subset and the Clinical Queries filters. Full-text can be accessed if on-campus.
- RxTxCanada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties).
*USEFUL FOR: ANESTHESIA, LABORATORY MEDICINE - ThiemeThe Thieme E-Book Library is an acclaimed online collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme’s renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series.
- VisualDXA diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.
The 6S Pyramid
- Resources for Evidence-Based Practice: The 6S Pyramid
The resources found in the 6S Pyramid contain evidence that will help you answer foreground questions (queries that bring together multiple concepts related to a specific clinical situation or research topic).
