Medicine: Postgraduate

Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, and new cases highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.

Covers those topics that are generally the most important and practical in any busy psychiatric emergency department. Equally important, the chapters are arranged by chief complaint rather than by psychiatric diagnosis, and each contains an important summary that can provide clarity quickly when seconds count.

Presents 'need-to-know' information on the basic science, treatment, and management of the major disorders, and helps you develop your skills in history taking and performing the Mental State Examination (MSE).

Gives the clinician a good sense of the level of psychiatric training most primary care physicians receive in medical school, so it creates a bridge for the psychotherapist in communicating with medical doctors, who write most prescriptions for psychotropic medications.

Provides a coherent appraisal of the current state of the field to help trainee and practising clinicians in their daily work. It is distinctive in being both interdisciplinary and international, in its integration of science and clinical practice, and in its practical discussion of how researchers and practitioners need to think about conflicting or uncertain findings.

The Clinical Study Guide for the Oral Boards in Psychiatry removes the burden of reviewing multiple texts and journals by compiling all the pertinent clinical information candidates must know to prepare for the exam into one concise, yet comprehensive guide. Everything that may be asked by the examiners is contained in this volume. Organized by class of disorder, the book takes the reader through the DSM-IV-TR diagnostic criteria, clinical issues, etiology prognosis, differential diagnosis and treatment for each type. It also provides indispensable insight into the clinical interview which is the core of the examination, emphasizing the importance of empathy, establishing rapport, and building trust with the patient. Finally, the author acknowledges and compensates for the limitations candidates may face due to the clinical setting in which they practice by focusing on the types of patients most likely to present for the oral boards.

Developed by the author to use in her own preparation for standardized psychiatry examinations and honed in her lectures to psychiatry house officers at Harvard,Psychiatry Bullets offers outlines, lists, and tables designed to promote learning and recall. Coverage includes all psychiatric topics found on key standardized examinations. The book is used by psychiatrists and neurologists preparing for the PRITE, the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology written exams, and various recertification exams.

A review of the most important points in clinical psychiatry, including diagnosis, case presentations and medicinal treatment as well as various treatment modalities available for the patient. A manual for students and practitioners from all disciplines including medical, nursing, PA, psychology, social work, and occupational therapy. Edition 5 incorporates the newest DSM-5 classification of psychiatric disorders.Chapter 1. IntroductionChapter 2. Psychiatric EvaluationChapter 3. The Depressed and Suicidal PatientChapter 4. PsychosesChapter 5. Bipolar DisorderChapter 6. Delirium/DementiaChapter 7. The Anxious PatientChapter 8. Alcohol and Substance Use DisorderChapter 9. The Sleepless PatientChapter 10. Eating DisordersChapter 11. PainChapter 12. Medical Problems Presenting as Psychiatric SyndromesChapter 13. Psychiatric Conditions of ChildhoodChapter 14. The Patient with Sexual ProblemsChapter 15. Personality DisordersChapter 16. Treatment ModalitiesChapter 17. Clinical Review

Psychiatry Review for Canadian Doctors offers extra preparation for other exams, including the psychiatry-resident-in-training exam and certification exams in the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand. Features four practice multiple-choice exams (200 questions total) and 20 OSCE scenarios. Covers all the main topics and question formats you'll find on the exams. Provides answer keys with detailed explanations and list of references for follow-up.

Database provides access to product monographs, gives contact information for Canada's poison control centers, various health organizations, manufacturers, and distributors of pharmaceutical products, and provides "Information for the Patient" pages, and therapeutic information.
Other title
RxTx.

The Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5 is a concise, companion to the ultimate psychiatric reference, DSM-5. It includes the fully revised diagnostic classification, as well as all of the diagnostic criteria from DSM-5 in a paperback format. Volume to provide clinicians with a resource for effectively diagnosing mental disorders, ranging from the most prevalent to the least common.

"Franz Alexander, a multilingual internationalist, was always deeply interested and well-informed on social and political developments. As the first graduate of the Berlin Psychoanalytic Institute, he saw the progress of psychoanalysis from its early stages. And as a leader with broad contacts, he was part of its growth to the present. Besides being abreast of their work, Alexander was personally acquainted—often close friends—with most of the leaders not only in psychoanalysis and psychiatry but in all the related fields. This lends an unusual authenticity to his story of developments since World War I in all aspects of the physical and group methods and investigations, as well as the individual. In Dr. Selesnick he had an invaluable assistant."

"Moving out of the shadows : a history of forensic psychiatry in Hamilton by john Deadman, principal author and editor. In 1972, Century Manor became home to a forward-looking, youthfully staffed forensic psychiatry program. ... John Deadman, a forensic psychiatrist at West 5th who wrote and edited "Moving Out of the Shadows." (He's son of William Deadman, forensic pathologist in Evelyn Dick case.)"

Common terms and phrases used such as: alcoholism, anatomy, and many more throughout the alphabet as related to psychiatry.

Holdings: 1988-2017
Established in 1956, The Canadian Journal of Psychiatry (The CJP) has been keeping psychiatrists up-to-date on the latest research for over 60 years.

Holdings: 1944-1985
The Digest of Neurology and Psychiatry was published quarterly for 81 years by The Institute of Living/Hartford Hospital.

Holdings: 1948-1977
Journal encompassing psychiatry, neurology and neuropsychiatry.

1966-1994
Hospital care and community psychiatry.

Holdings: 1978-2014
The Journal of Clinical Psychiatry has, for over 70 years, been a leading source of peer-reviewed articles offering the latest information on mental health topics to psychiatrists and other medical professionals. The Journal covers the full spectrum of issues, including depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, anxiety, addiction, premenstrual dysphoric disorder, and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, while exploring the newest advances in the diagnosis and treatment of mental health disorders.

1968-1983
Print journal of psychiatric disorders.