Figure 1 allows users to view rare cares, innovative treatments and teaching cases from around the world. Patient identifying information is removed and reviewed by a team of experts before the image is uploaded for viewing.
A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
1. Go to Best Practice from hsl.mcmaster.ca.
2. Click on "Best Practice App" towards the left of the screen.
3. Click on "ACCESS THE APP"
4. Follow the instructions by making a personal account and downloading the app from the app store.
Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
1. Go to hsl.mcmaster.ca.
2. Click on "Clinical Key" from the library's homepage. It is located under "Ebook Collections".
3. Click on "Login" in the top right hand corner of the screen.
4. Login or make an account by clicking on "Not registered?".
5. Download the app from the app store and login with the account information you just created.
Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties).
*USEFUL FOR: ANESTHESIA, LABORATORY MEDICINE
1. Go to https://www.pharmacists.ca/function/et/register-for-cps-mobile/ enter the Organization Code: 0064512 and complete your registration using a valid @mcmaster.ca email address.
2. Download CPS by CPhA.
3. Login using the username and password created during registration.
1. Click on DynaMed from hsl.mcmaster.ca.
2. Scroll down to the bottom of the page, and click on "Mobile" located at the bottom left.
3. Follow the instructions located in the hyperlink on this page.
4. A personal account is required to begin the download. Please click the icon of a person in the top bar and create an account BEFORE you download.
The EBSCO Mobile app gives users ubiquitous access to the EBSCO library’s content. Search and download articles from EBSCO databases (e.g. CINAHL, Ageline, SPORTDiscus). E-books are also available in this app.
1. The EBSCO App is available for iOS and Android devices from the iTunes App store and Google Play.
2. After opening the EBSCO App, use the "Find my Library" feature to sign in with your institutional credentials. More information about installation and authentication: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCO-App-Installation-and-Authentication-FAQs?language=en_US
3. The first time you log into the app, tap "Start a Search" in the "Welcome" area to get started. More information on searching: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/EBSCO-App-Quick-Start-Guide?language=en_US
Medscape from WebMD (medscape.com) is the leading medical resource most used by physicians, medical students, nurses and other healthcare professionals for clinical information.The Medscape app is the highest rated, fastest growing free mobile app for healthcare professionals with over 4 million registered users.
Evidence-based clinical tool that includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information. Includes mobile apps for drug reference, IV compatibility, and drug interactions.
1. Click on the link above.
2. On the homepage, under Resources click on "Download mobile apps".
3. Select "Micromedex Native Mobile Apps".
4. Review the Micromedex app of your choice, and select the iTunes App Store or Google Play link to download the app.
5. Follow the instructions on the app on how to set it up.
Read by QxMD provides a single place to keep up to date with new medical and scientific research. Follow specialities, collections or journals. This tool is not integrated into our collection, so if interested in full text, you must search our catalogue to see if we have it in our collection.
The Thieme E-Book Library is an acclaimed online collection of lavishly illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thieme’s renowned Color Atlases and Flexibook series. To download, follow the link above. You must be on MacSecure and once you have downloaded the titles to your device you can enjoy them any time and anywhere.
1. Visit VisualDx from hsl.mcmaster.ca.
2. Click on "Create a Personal Account".
4. Download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes App Store or Google Play.
5. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using your current VisualDx username and password.
To access Isabel and download the app, you can do it either two ways=
Access the app through the Isabel website with a login and password:
1. Go to www.isabelhealthcare.com, and login with ID: 64383, PW: isabel.
2. Check remember me.
Use the QR code that appears on the website to access the app:
1. Launch the Camera app on your device. Point it at the QR code.
2. Look for the notification banner at the top of the screen. Tap on it to open Isabel.
3. To SAVE to the home screen:
a) On an iPhone or iPad - Tap on the share button (small square button with an arrow - middle bottom of the screen). Scroll right, left or up depending on the version of iOS you have to find the “Add to home screen”.
b) On an Android - Open the Android menu (three dots on the top right hand side of the screen) to find the “Add to home screen”’.
Visible Body Muscle Premium and Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas are two resources available through HSL. The Visible Body apps are a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality and more.