Over 10 new chapters that address topical issues, including career advancement, quality improvement, surgical rescue, and more. Over 500 illustrations and figures to help illuminate concepts and techniques. Covers a wide range of topics in depth--principles and practices, outcomes research, surgical complications, management of commonly encountered disorders and injuries, and more.
Covering the upper extremity, hip, foot, and ankle, the book focuses on how attending surgeons approach treatment and management with specific patient types in specific situations, and is ideal as a complementary resource to comprehensive technical manuals.
Presents 135 cases that take readers step by step through the principles of safe surgical care. Ideal for senior surgical residents who are preparing for the oral board exam, this updated resource presents today's standards of care in all areas of general surgery, including abdominal wall, upper GI, emergency general surgery, hepatobiliary, colorectal, breast, endocrine, thoracic, vascular, pediatric, skin and soft tissue, trauma, critical care, transplant, and head and neck surgeries.
More than 150 recognized experts provide complete information on the diagnosis and treatment of all surgical diseases and injuries in infants and children. Principles and Practice of Pediatric Surgery provides clinically focused coverage of each organ system, including extensive sections on surgical oncology, the thorax, the abdomen, and trauma and state-of-the-art chapters on endocrine surgery, the breast, injury prevention, cell transplantation, and short bowel syndrome. More than 1,300 illustrations demonstrate surgical procedures step by step.
Cases are designed to provide the reader with the classic findings on history and physical examination. The case presentation is followed by a series of short questions and answers, designed to provide further understanding of the important aspects of the history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, diagnostic work-up and management, as well as questions that may arise on surgical rounds.
Focuses your learning in three distinct areas: Introduction to a Typical Surgical Service, Introduction to the OR, and Tools and Technical Skills. Spells out the roles of each member of the surgical team, how to be a team player and demonstrate proper etiquette, and what opportunities there are to help.
These selected texts are far from what the library has to offer.
Each chapter is brief and includes pedagogical features such as bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points boxes. A companion website includes a question bank containing an additional 50 questions and fully searchable text.
The book covers the most need-to-know information about specific diseases and areas of surgery and meets all the guidelines of the Association of Surgical Educators. Additional features include an atlas of images, multiple-choice questions, and case studies.
Global Surgery and Public Health: A New Paradigm offers the most current information as well as a systematic approach to considering surgery in the context of a broader umbrella of public health. It is ideal for courses in Global/International Health, Public Health, Surgery, Medical Anthropology as well as for professionals in public policy and international health care and humanitarian groups serving the surgical needs of patients in under-resourced settings.
Surgery provides a clinically oriented, evidence-based, encyclopedic reference of general surgery for all surgical residents, general surgeons, and medical students. Divided into eight sections, key issues in the care of the surgical patient are presented and synthesized. This also provides complete coverage on all aspects of cancer in surgery. The book is augmented by nearly 1,000 illustrations clearly depicting surgical technique and a CD-ROM with hot-links of all references to MEDLINE.
Includes general surgery and surgical specialties all in one volume Offers authoritative information by leading surgery educators Provides five in-book practice questions per chapter, with additional questions online Practice questions include answers and references to the area within the text where the topics are covered Focuses on high-yield information for quick reference.
Case studies are presented in question-and-answer format and have been widely referenced to reassure the reader that their contents are established best practice. Most cases are accompanied by multiple x-rays or color illustrations for visual clarity.
The Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS) is the Canadian standard for drug monographs, developed by manufacturers, approved by Health Canada and optimized by CPhA editors. The CPS contains thousands of product monographs for drugs, vaccines and natural health products, including 65 NEW products for the Canadian market. This definitive resource also includes monographs written by Canadian Pharmacists Association's editorial staff, based on the best available evidence and reviewed by expert physicians and pharmacists. Clinical tools, product images (exclusive to CPS online) and directories of drug and health care information are included.
"When Robert Louis Stevenson wrote his gothic horror story of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, he based the house of the genial doctor-turned-fiend on the home of John Hunter. The choice was understandable, for Hunter was both widely acclaimed and greatly feared."
"The introduction of anaesthesia to Victorian Britain marked a defining moment between modern medicine and earlier practices. This book uses new information from John Snow's casebooks and London hospital archives to revise many of the existing historical assumptions about the early history of surgical anaesthesia. By examining complex patterns of innovation, reversals, debate and geographical difference, Stephanie Snow shows how anaesthesia became established as a routine part of British medicine."
As the official publication of the French, Belgian and Swiss Societies for Surgery of the Hand, as well as of the French Society of Rehabilitation of the Hand & Upper Limb, Hand Surgery and Rehabilitation — formerly named Chirurgie de la Main — publishes original articles, literature reviews, technical notes, and clinical cases in French and in English.
*ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
The International Journal of Surgery (IJS) is dedicated to the global advancement of surgical research, education and clinical practice. It aims to promote continued developments in surgery through the sharing of knowledge, ideas and good practice across all surgical specialties.
*ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
he area and subjects covered include all aspects related to surgical disciplines, being equally focused on basic research and clinical studies. We intend to provide deeper insights into clinical, experimental and investigative surgery, able to support scientific advancement of surgical disciplines to the ultimate benefit of patient care and rehabilitation.
*ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
Each issue features original scientific contributions and clinical reports. Peer-reviewed articles cover topics in oncology, trauma, gastrointestinal, vascular, and transplantation surgery.
*ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
Trauma Surgery & Acute Care Open is the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma’s open access journal dedicated to the rapid publication of peer-reviewed, high-quality trauma and acute care research. Trauma Surgery & Acute Care Open provides an interdisciplinary forum for global issues in trauma and acute care surgery and is dedicated to covering epidemiological, educational, and socioeconomic facets of trauma management and injury prevention.
*ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY
Advances in Orthopedics provides a forum for orthopaedics working on improving the quality of orthopedic health care. Topics relate to arthroplasty, hand surgery, limb reconstruction, pediatric orthopaedics, sports medicine etc.
The Society was established with the object of: 'The advancement and improvement of education in orthopaedic surgery and allied branches of surgery and the diffusion of knowledge of new and improved methods of teaching and practising orthopaedic surgery in all its branches."
The Society was established with the object of: 'The advancement and improvement of education in orthopaedic surgery and allied branches of surgery and the diffusion of knowledge of new and improved methods of teaching and practising orthopaedic surgery in all its branches'
Oral Surgery presents rigorous, objective investigation and science to inform oral surgery clinical practice and so improve the quality of patient care. The scope of the journal Oral Surgery is wide including oral medicine, oral and maxillofacial pathology and dental and maxillofacial radiology.
Formerly known as Surgery, Gynecology & Obstetrics (1905–1994), JACS has the goal of providing its readership the highest quality rapid retrieval of information relevant to surgeons. JACS is a monthly peer-reviewed journal publishing original contributions on all aspects of surgery.