EBP Toolkit: Speech-Language Pathology
- Practice Guidelines of the ANCDSEvidence Based Practice Guidelines for the Management of Communication Disorders in Neurologically Impaired Individuals
Additional EBP Toolkit
- EBM ToolsCentre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Oxford University
Guides
- AGREE II: Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and EvaluationDownloadable instrument for evaluating clinical practice guidelines.
- Critical Appraisal of EvidenceCentre for Evidence-Based Medicine
- Critical Appraisal WorksheetsCentre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Books/Articles
- Users' Guide to the Medical LiteratureJAMA Evidence
- JAMA Rational Clinical Examination SeriesJournal of the American Medical Association
- How to Read a PaperBMJ series on evaluating research articles
- "Making Sense of Diagnostic Tests Likelihood Ratios"Perera R. & Heneghan C.
Practice Resources
- Accessss (formerly MacPLUS)Searches Best Practice, DynaMed, UpToDate, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, PLUS Studies and Synopses, PubMed Clinical Queries.
- Best Practice
A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence. - Critically Appraised Topics in Rehabilitation TherapySchool of Rehabilitation Therapy, Queen's University
- JAMAEvidenceIncludes three textbooks: Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice, 2nd edition, The rational clinical examination : evidence-based clinical diagnosis, and Care at the close of life : evidence and experience. This database also includes education guides, glossary, calculators, learning tools, custom curriculum, and audio content.
- OrthoEvidenceOrthoEvidenceTM is the source for high quality, current orthopaedic–only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts. OrthoEvidence is intended to provide critical information access to orthopaedic healthcare providers and their patients everywhere.
- OTseekerOTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Rehabilitation after critical illnessNational Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. Rehabilitation after critical illness. NICE clinical guideline 83. Developed by the Centre for Clinical Practice at NICE, 2009.
- Rehabilitation GuidelinesEvidence based rehabilitation database from the University of Ottawa.
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviewsvia Cochrane Library.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)via Cochrane Library.
- Systematic ReviewsNHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York
- CovidenceCovidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.
