Off-Site Access
To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, you must login to MacID first.
- Use your MacID@mcmaster.ca to login to library online resources and Avenue to Learn.
- Use your MacID to access wireless internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam. What is Eduroam?
Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Web of Science(1976- present) (Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index)
- ERICEducation Resources Information Center
- ERABIEvidence Based Review of Moderate to Severe Acquired Brain Injury
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseDeveloped to help identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during rehabilitation.
- Accessss This link opens in a new window Accessss (formerly MacPLUS) Federated Search is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
Research Support and Resources
- Database TutorialsLearn how to search the library's most popular databases with these step-by-step videos.
- Searching the Literature: The BasicsLearn how to effectively search the literature with tips on asking questions, selecting resources, and developing search terms.
- How to Search the Literature (Advanced)This guide provides a framework for searching the research literature. Keep in mind that searching is an iterative process, as such you may need to review and revise steps at any point.
- Researcher's Tookit: The Research CycleFind information resources and services to help work through the stages of a research project from creation to closure.
- CovidenceCovidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.
Evaluating Sources
These resources will help you comprehend and evaluate the information found in academic journal articles.
- Evaluating InformationJohns Hopkins Libraries LibGuide
- How to Read and Comprehend Scientific Research ArticlesVideo from University of Minnesota Libraries.
- How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal ArticleBy Frederique Laubepin, PhD
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2013. - UlrichsWebLook up the Peer Review status of journals
Citation Style guide
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style
7th edition, 2020 - print version
- Using American Psychological Association (APA) FormatPurdue University Online Writing Lab
- Guide to Citing Canadian Government PublicationsMount Allison University
Citation Management Software
- Citation Management SoftwareA description and comparison chart of citation management software - McMaster University
- Endnote This link opens in a new window EndNote is a citation management tool that moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish and share your work. Whether you're writing a paper or manuscript, leading a research project, maintaining a CV, teaching a course or applying for a grant, EndNote can help.
