Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Covidence

Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.

What is Covidence?

Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references.  The Health Sciences Library now provides unlimited access to Covidence to university affiliates.

 

Creating a Covidence Account

  1. Request an invitation to McMaster’s Covidence subscription using your McMaster email address (email@mcmaster.ca or email@medportal.ca) at:  https://www.covidence.org/organizations/7Kv9Q/signup
  2. An invitation will be emailed to you: click Accept this invitation
  3. Create an account using the same McMaster email address or Login to an existing Covidence  - https://app.covidence.org/sign_in

Screenshot of the Covidence login page

Joining a Covidence Organization Account (Video)  -  Covidence staff show you how to link your account to the University's subscription

After creating a personal Covidence account and joining the McMaster University subscription, you will be able to sign in from anywhere by visiting: https://app.covidence.org/sign_in

Have an Existing Covidence Account?

If you have an existing Covidence account, either through a trial or through a paid subscription, and your Covidence account is set up with your mcmaster.ca or medportal.ca email, you can request an invitation to join the McMaster University subscription. If you have an account that is linked to a non-McMaster email, but you are affiliated with the University, please notify Neera Bhatnagar so that we can verify and invite you to the institutional subscription. Do not create a new Covidence account.

We can migrate existing Covidence reviews held by McMaster affiliates into the full unlimited account. This allows the review owner to access to the features of the full plan, including unlimited reviews and unlimited reviewers. Contact Neera Bhatnagar if you would like to migrate your existing review to the institutional account.

Why Covidence?

  • Support for duplicated, independent processes, including at citation screening, full text review, Risk of Bias, and Data Extraction stages 
  • Resolution of screening, Risk of Bias, and data extraction conflicts, and agreement on final consensus data 
  • Import of citations from a range of bibliographic databases and citation management software, e.g. Endnote, Mendeley, Zotero and de-duplication of study citations (with manual override)
  • Storage of full text study reports
  • Automatic population of Risk of Bias tables with text selected in full text reports 
  • Simple export of data into RevMan or Excel

Why use McMaster Institutional Access?

  • Unlimited records for each review 
  • Unlimited number of reviewers for each review 
  • Unlimited number of reviews