Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Researcher's Toolkit: Gather & Analyze

Access Research Collections

Library Collection

HSL has a vast collection of health-related books, journals, article databases, evidence-based resources and clinical tools. The majority of our collection is available online, and our print materials are located on the lower level. Use your MacID to login to online resources from off campus.

If you would like to recommend a resource for purchase, please contact Andrea McLellan (mclell@mcmaster.ca) with your request.

Interlibrary Loans

McMaster University faculty, staff and students have access to library materials at universities and colleges around the world through RACER Interlibrary Loans. HSL absorbs the cost of borrowing from other institutions so there is no charge to the user.

Photocopy Services

This service provides paper photocopies of journal articles for a fee of $7.00 per article.  Users requesting articles not available at McMaster will be charged an additional $3.00 interlibrary loan fee.  Articles are typically ready within 3 business days (interlibrary loans will take longer) and can be picked up at the Health Sciences Library services desk or sent to users through campus mail for an additional fee.

Identify Knowledge Synthesis Tools/Software

The library can recommend tools and approaches to managing your workflow during the inclusion/exclusion stage of your systematic or scoping review.

You can also access SPSS statistical software on library workstations. 

Systematic Review Software

Manage Your Search Results

Reference management tools allow you to create a personal library of results from a variety of database searches.  These tools can also help automate the creation of your reference list and in-text citations for publications.

Manage Your Research Data

Research Data Management (RDM) is the active organization and maintenance of data throughout its lifecycle, from its collection, interpretation, dissemination, and the archiving of valuable results.

RDM practices optimize the quality of research and facilitates the re-use of research data.