Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Appropriate Resources
The library provides access to a wide variety of topic-specific health resources. Your information needs are dependent on the type of research you are doing. For example, knowledge synthesis research (e.g. systematic reviews) on biomedical topics usually involves searching the following databases :
MEDLINE Coverage: 1946-
A comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
CINAHL Coverage: 1981- Present
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
Web of Science Coverage: 1976- (May vary by Index)
Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination.
•Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI)
•Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
•Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
Cochrane Library Coverage: 1999-
The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
A librarian can help you determine which resources are most appropriate, whether you are completing a case study or engaging in knowledge synthesis research.
Refine Your Search Strategy
HSL has expertise in building complex literature searches in journal article databases, including: harvesting search terms, identifying appropriate subject headings and translating the search across different databases. We can also advise on saving your search history, exporting search results to reference management systems, and how to validate your search against existing known literature.
Find Grey Literature
Grey literature is research produced outside traditional commercial or academic publishing channels, such as: content in clinical trial registries or registered studies, conference proceedings, government or organizational reports, blog posts, research logs, etc).
HSL can help researchers navigate the complexities of discovering grey literature in their field.
Document Your Search
Knowledge synthesis and knowledge translation research is held to high standards during the searching stage. Librarians can offer guidance around:
- Proper documentation of resource use
- Justification for why you would select specific resources
- Record keeping of exported search results so that you may generate a Prisma flowchart at a later date
- Storing key workflow details so that you may retrieve and rerun your search strategy down the road
> Contact Us to Book a Research Consult
Search Data Repositories
Are you looking for data? The following resources are sources of freely available, archived data . As always, contact us if you need a hand locating the data you need!
Discipline-Specific Data Repositories
General Purpose Data Repositories
Visit Find Research Data from McMaster Research Data Services for additional information.