Welcome
This page has been set up to help identify resources which could support learning objectives in Occupational Therapy program at McMaster University. If you find a resource which you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Neera Bhatnagar.
Search the Library Catalogue
- McMaster Library CatalogueSearch the library catalogue for material held at McMaster University.
Connecting to library resources from home
To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, you must login to MacID first.
- Use Mac ID to login to library e-Resources and Avenue to Learn.
- Use your MAC ID to access wireless Internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam. What is Eduroam?
Problem Based Learning
- Problem Based LearningAn introduction to Problem Based Learning (PBL) at McMaster University.
Databases
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Maximum concurrent users: 8
- Accessss This link opens in a new window Accessss (formerly MacPLUS) Federated Search is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseDeveloped to help identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during rehabilitation.
Additional Resources
- Searching the Literature: The BasicsLearn how to effectively search the literature with tips on asking questions, selecting resources, and developing search terms.
- How to Search the Literature (Advanced)This guide provides a framework for searching the research literature. Keep in mind that searching is an iterative process, as such you may need to review and revise steps at any point.
- Researcher's Tookit: The Research CycleFind information resources and services to help work through the stages of a research project from creation to closure.
- CovidenceCovidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.
Citation Style guide
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style
7th edition, 2020 - print version
- Using American Psychological Association (APA) FormatPurdue University Online Writing Lab
- Guide to Citing Canadian Government PublicationsMount Allison University
Citation Management Software
- Citation Management SoftwareA description and comparison chart of citation management software - McMaster University
- Endnote This link opens in a new window EndNote is a citation management tool that moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish and share your work. Whether you're writing a paper or manuscript, leading a research project, maintaining a CV, teaching a course or applying for a grant, EndNote can help.
Need Assistance?
Check out our online tutorials for tips on searching OVID, CINAHL, PubMed, RefWorks, etc. and for the Library Catalogue.
Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
Virtual Tour
- Virtual Tour of the Health Sciences LibraryTake a virtual tour of the library! Learn more about the space and services.
