Guides: Physiotherapy: Getting Started

Welcome

This page has been set up to help identify resources which could support learning objectives in the Physiotherapy program at McMaster University. If you find a resource which you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Neera Bhatnagar.

Search the Library Catalogue

Search across the collections of all McMaster's libraries to find ebooks, print books, journals, databases and more.

Connecting to library resources from off-campus

To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, you must login to MacID first.

Use your MacID@mcmaster.ca to login to library online resources and Avenue to Learn.
Use your MacID to access wireless internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam. What is Eduroam?

Contact Us

Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University

1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1

Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca

Databases

Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window
e.g. MEDLINE, EMBASE, AMED, PsycINFO
CINAHL This link opens in a new window EBSCOHost
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Maximum concurrent users: 8

PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Sociological Abstracts
Web of Science
(1976- present) (Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Dissertations & Theses @ McMaster University

OTseeker This link opens in a new window Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
REHABDATA This link opens in a new window The database covers documents describing physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Coverage includes 1956- current.

Other Health Databases

Accessss This link opens in a new window Accessss (formerly MacPLUS) Federated Search is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.

Rehabilitation Measures Database
Developed to help identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during rehabilitation.

Research Support and Resources

Database Tutorials
Learn how to search the library's most popular databases with these step-by-step videos.
Searching the Literature: The Basics
Learn how to effectively search the literature with tips on asking questions, selecting resources, and developing search terms.
How to Search the Literature (Advanced)
This guide provides a framework for searching the research literature. Keep in mind that searching is an iterative process, as such you may need to review and revise steps at any point.
Researcher's Tookit: The Research Cycle
Find information resources and services to help work through the stages of a research project from creation to closure.
Finding Grey Literature
Covidence
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.