Welcome!
This guide has been developed to identify library and internet resources that support the learning objectives of the Physician Assistant Education Program (PAEP) at McMaster University. If you find a resource that you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Susanna Galbraith, including the full URL of the resource and a brief description.
Evidence-Based Practice
Health sciences research can be interpreted as strongly evidence-based to poorly evidence-based. Learn more about how various health resources and clinical tools can be analyzed using the library's Evidence-Based Practice guide.
Clinical Guidelines
- NICENational Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK)
- Canadian Medical AssociationScroll to bottom of page to see a list of Canadian resources containing guidelines.
CRE Prep - Clinical Cases
Patient Education and Consumer Health
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- Informed Health OnlineHealth Research and Education Foundation Ltd.
Popular Clinical Tools
Best used in clinical settings for looking up excellent evidence-based information.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
- This link opens in a new window
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, includes the e-CPS and Therapeutic Choices. APP: The following steps are only required the first time you install the app. Go to: www.pharmacists.ca/register (1) Create an account. (2) You will receive a “welcome” email asking you to create your CPhA password—follow the instructions. (3) Once your password has been set, visit the “profile” icon located at the top right of the page and select “profile” from the dropdown menu. (4) Scroll down to the “Set Mobile Enterprise Code” section. (5) Enter the Organization Code 0064512 and set a CPS password. Click on the “Next” button. (6) Download the CPS mobile app on your device and use your email address and the password you just created to login.
- This link opens in a new window
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
- This link opens in a new window
- VisualDX This link opens in a new window A visual diagnostic decision support tool.
- This link opens in a new window
Find Research Articles in Health Sciences Databases
Best used when looking for individual research studies when conducting a literature or systematic review.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1946- A comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Coverage:1974- Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1976- (May vary by Index) Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. •Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) •Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2004- Scopus is an abstract and citation database launched in 2004, featuring scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Journals
Read the latest research in the Physician Assistants field.
Popular Textbooks
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History TakingPublication Date: 2017
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024 by Publication Date: 2023
- Merck Manual - Professional VersionPreviously known as the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Textbook Collections
Popular Anatomy Resources
- Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window Users need to create a visible body account to access product. Visible Body is a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- MacAnatomy McMaster's own virtual Anatomy lab.
Drug Information
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
- This link opens in a new window
