Getting Started
Video Orientation to Anatomy & Physiology Resources
- Anatomy & Physiology Resources at McMaster University (YouTube)An overview of the resources available at McMaster University and guidance on how to search A&P topics on book platforms and in the catalogue.
Core Resources
- MacAnatomyan online portal created by the Education Program in Anatomy
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowCollection of 100+ atlases that contain fabulous medical illustrations accompanied by explanatory text
- Visible Body Anatomy & Physiology This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Users need to create a visible body account to access product.12 units: cells and tissues, integumentary, skeleton and joints, muscle types, nervous, endocrine, circulatory, lymphatic, respiratory, digestive, urinary, and reproductive
- Comprehensive Physiology
An authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information. It is a reference tool for researchers and clinicians, a teaching tool for instructors, and an informative resource for students in the life and health sciences
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th ed. by Publication Date: 2021Platform: ClinicalKey
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by Call Number: QS 4 .T712P (print)ISBN: 9781119662792Publication Date: 2020-10-13
- Anatomy & Physiology open access textbook
This link opens in a new window
2nd edition through OpenStax.
This work is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International.
eBook Packages for Anatomy & Physiology Content
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Contains landmark neurology references including Principles of Neural Science. Also contains a multimedia library featuring an Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas as well as videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring, Other online learning tools include case and self-assessment reviews, a drug database, and a 3-D brain anatomy tool.
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including the interactive program entitled: Anatomy & physiology revealed. Also includes access to the F.A Davis PT Collection.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Includes Thieme's Flexibook atlases and Textbook series published in the medical and life sciences.
Neuroanatomy
- Neurosurgical Atlas This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of advanced neurosurgical techniques including text, surgical videos, lecture webinars, and neuroanatomical images. The focus is on practical applied pieces of advice for everyday surgical operations. The Neurosurgical Atlas has proven to be the ultimate source of technical information among learners and professionals involved in the care of neurosurgical and neurological patients.
- Interactive Neuroanatomy AtlasThe Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is an active learning module for assessing your knowledge of brain anatomy structures and their corresponding neural pathway functions. Author: John H. Martin, PhD, Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education, CUNY School of Medicine, The City College of New York
Pathology & Pathophysiology
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th ed. by Publication Date: 2021Platform: ClinicalKey
Web Resources - Videos & Learning Modules
Students from a Non-Science Background
Principles of Anatomy & Physiology - Tortora
Tortora’s Principles of Anatomy and Physiology comes highly recommended as an anatomy and physiology text, and should serve as a good foundation for more advanced studies in anatomy and physiology. After you have mastered Tortora you may want to take a look at Guyton's text on physiology.
- Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by Call Number: QS 4 .T712PISBN: 9781119662792Publication Date: 2020-10-13From the very first edition, Principles of Anatomy and Physiology has been recognized for its pioneering homeostatic approach to learning structure and function of the human body. The 16th edition continues to set the discipline standardby combining exceptional content and outstanding visuals for a rich and comprehensive experience. Highly regarded authors, Jerry Tortora and Bryan Derrickson motivate and support learners at every level, from novice to expert, and equip them with the skills they need to succeed in this class and beyond.
Biology
Biology by Campbell and Biological Science by Freeman were written for students who do not have a background in science. The books cover topics of cells, immunology, and gas exchange in enough detail to allow you to study anatomy and physiology in more depth. You will notice that the biology texts contain animal examples as well as human examples. You can just skip over the animal examples!
Biology (Campbell) Recommended Sections
- Chapter 6 - Tour of the Cell
- Chapter 42 - Circulation and Gas Exchange
- Chapter 43 - The Immune System
Campbell Biology by Call Number: QH 308.2 .C189BISBN: 9780134093413Publication Date: 2021 3rd Cdn ed.
Biological Science (Freeman) Recommended Sections
- Chapter called "Inside the cell"
- Chapter called "Gas Exchange and Circulation"
- Chapter called "The Immune System in Animals"
Biological Science by Call Number: QH 308.2 .F885bISBN: 9780321976499Publication Date: 2020, 7th ed.
