Guides: Searching the Literature: The Basics: Select a Search Resource

Select a Search Resource

Consider:

The type of question you are asking (qualitative vs. quantitative)
The kind of information you'll need to answer that question (textbooks, journal articles, statistics, etc.)

The information below can help you identify the most relevant resources for your search.

Background Questions are best answered by:

Textbooks
Reference resources
Other sources of established knowledge (encyclopedias, directories, atlases, etc.).

These resources could be available in print or online.

The tools listed below are great starting points when looking for background information.

e-Book Collections
These resources contain a variety of electronic textbooks in one convenient package.
Library Catalogue
Search the library's entire collection of print and electronic resources.
Virtual Reference Shelf
Organized by topic.

Foreground Questions are best answered by research evidence found in:

You can search multiple sources of evidence simultaneously using an article database.

Discover article databases for specific disciplines/specialties in the box below.

Click on disciplines of interest to see a list of relevant article databases:

Data/Statistics

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Trip This link opens in a new window
Limit results to "Guidelines" down the right side of the page

Government Publications

Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
From Scholars Portal, search within the Canadian Public Documents Collection

Tools or Instruments

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1985- Designed to help identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.

Drug Information

Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, includes the e-CPS and Therapeutic Choices. APP: The following steps are only required the first time you install the app. Go to: www.pharmacists.ca/register (1) Create an account. (2) You will receive a “welcome” email asking you to create your CPhA password—follow the instructions. (3) Once your password has been set, visit the “profile” icon located at the top right of the page and select “profile” from the dropdown menu. (4) Scroll down to the “Set Mobile Enterprise Code” section. (5) Enter the Organization Code 0064512 and set a CPS password. Click on the “Next” button. (6) Download the CPS mobile app on your device and use your email address and the password you just created to login.

Multimedia (Images, Videos, etc.)

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Select "Multimedia" from the toolbar along the top of the page.