Medicine: Postgraduate

Each chapter is brief and includes pedagogical features such as bolded key words, tables, figures, and key points boxes. A companion website includes a question bank containing an additional 50 questions and fully searchable text.

Now combining general surgery and the specialties in one volume, this Sixth Edition of Essentials of General Surgery and Surgical Specialties focuses on the information students need to know to pass the NBME surgery shelf or other surgery rotation examinations. This new edition of Lawrence's popular text offers concise, high-yield content and a smaller format ideal for study on the go. Updated to reflect the latest advances in the field, it provides the authoritative, up-to-date content today's busy students need for exam success.

This book will aim to cover in detail general principles and specific issues related to the ethical and legal dimensions of modern surgical practice.

Global Surgery and Public Health: A New Paradigm offers the most current information as well as a systematic approach to considering surgery in the context of a broader umbrella of public health. It is ideal for courses in Global/International Health, Public Health, Surgery, Medical Anthropology as well as for professionals in public policy and international health care and humanitarian groups serving the surgical needs of patients in under-resourced settings.

Pocket-sized handbook, in outline format, providing a broad scope of patient management information for advanced students.

Presents a series of surgical cases that begin with a clinical scenario and progress step by step through the decision-making process of patient management.

Rush University Medical Center Review of Surgery, edited by Drs. Velasco, Bines, Deziel, Millikan, McCarthy, Prinz, and Saclarides, gives a comprehensive review of both general surgery and surgical subspecialties in a user-friendly question-and-answer format that mimics actual exams. Thoroughly revised, this 5th edition adds new chapters and updates existing chapters with the latest surgical techniques and practices, plus an increased emphasis on ethics, while maintaining its broad review of surgical topics to provide wide-ranging and complete coverage of the information most important to you. More than 1,500 peer-reviewed questions mirror standardized test blueprints provide a realistic simulation of the actual test-taking experience so you can become accustomed to the exam interface.

Now in its Fifth Edition, NMS Surgery is a concise, outlined review of surgery. The succinct coverage of surgical subjects and the USMLE-format questions enable students to complete their clerkship, prepare for the shelf/end-of-rotation exam, and study for USMLE. This edition has been thoroughly updated and streamlined to focus on essential material. Questions have been revised to better reflect the level of difficulty of shelf/end-of-rotation exams. The book has a new two-color design with more illustrations and wider margins for notes.

Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is a way to assess your knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You’ll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship’s core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam.

Case studies are presented in question-and-answer format and have been widely referenced to reassure the reader that their contents are established best practice. Most cases are accompanied by multiple x-rays or color illustrations for visual clarity.

Hardcover copy of classifications for procedures.

"When Robert Louis Stevenson wrote his gothic horror story of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, he based the house of the genial doctor-turned-fiend on the home of John Hunter. The choice was understandable, for Hunter was both widely acclaimed and greatly feared."

"Covers injuries of the spinal cord and peripheral nerve injuries; also contains many references to the Peripheral Nerve Registry set up in the office of the Surgeon General in November of 1944."

"The introduction of anaesthesia to Victorian Britain marked a defining moment between modern medicine and earlier practices. This book uses new information from John Snow's casebooks and London hospital archives to revise many of the existing historical assumptions about the early history of surgical anaesthesia. By examining complex patterns of innovation, reversals, debate and geographical difference, Stephanie Snow shows how anaesthesia became established as a routine part of British medicine."

A text-book of operative surgery.

A history of the Second World War. United Kingdom military series.

Pictorial record of the history of surgery.

1983-1999
Advances in Orthopedics provides a forum for orthopaedics working on improving the quality of orthopedic health care. Topics relate to arthroplasty, hand surgery, limb reconstruction, pediatric orthopaedics, sports medicine etc.

1948-2012
The Society was established with the object of: 'The advancement and improvement of education in orthopaedic surgery and allied branches of surgery and the diffusion of knowledge of new and improved methods of teaching and practising orthopaedic surgery in all its branches."

Holdings: 1999-2000
The Society was established with the object of: 'The advancement and improvement of education in orthopaedic surgery and allied branches of surgery and the diffusion of knowledge of new and improved methods of teaching and practising orthopaedic surgery in all its branches'

Holdings: 2008-2017
Research into pediatrics, neurology, perinatology and child health.

1965-1981
Oral Surgery presents rigorous, objective investigation and science to inform oral surgery clinical practice and so improve the quality of patient care. The scope of the journal Oral Surgery is wide including oral medicine, oral and maxillofacial pathology and dental and maxillofacial radiology.

Holdings: 1907-1993
Formerly known as Surgery, Gynecology & Obstetrics (1905–1994), JACS has the goal of providing its readership the highest quality rapid retrieval of information relevant to surgeons. JACS is a monthly peer-reviewed journal publishing original contributions on all aspects of surgery.