Librarian
Liaison Assistant
Ann Kelly
Contact:
Ann Kelly,
Library Information Technician
McMaster University, Health Sciences Library,
Hamilton Campus,
HSC 2B19b2
Library Information Technician
McMaster University, Health Sciences Library,
Hamilton Campus,
HSC 2B19b2
905.525.9140 ext. 21714
Reference Assistance
-
Health Sciences Library Services Desk905-525-9140 x22327
hslib@mcmaster.ca
Learning in Medical School
- On Noteworthy Notes- Danny Oppenheimer Presented at the McMaster Symposium on Education & Cognition, 2016
- My Medical School Summary Notes Written by a Canadian medical student.
- Sketchy EBMA YouTube Channel that introduces basic EBM concepts.
CRAAP Test: criteria for assessing the validity and reliability of information
C Currency (how old is the information)
R Reliability (who does the author reference)
A Authority (does the author have expertise and experience)
A Accuracy (is the information cited and backed up with evidence)
P Perspective/bias (does the author provide full and balanced information)
Quick Look-up
- MedlinePlusIncludes a medical dictionary, drug & supplement information, and patient education videos.
The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2025 by ISBN: 9781975234720Publication Date: 2024-04-16Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2025 provides rapid access to the diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated conditions for more than 500 disease and condition topics to help you make accurate decisions at the point of care. Organized alphabetically by diagnosis, it presents brief, bulleted points in a templated format, and contains more than 100 diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms. This up-to-date, bestselling reference delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible, allowing you to focus your valuable time on providing high-quality care to your patients.
Disease
- Nature reviews disease primers (journal)Each Primer provides a global overview of the field and outlines key open research questions. Primers have a modular structure, covering epidemiology; disease mechanisms; diagnosis, screening and prevention; management; and quality of life. Authored by an international panel of academic scientists, translational researchers and clinicians, new Primers are published every week.
Key Medical Textbooks
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Publication Date: 2022-03-28Platform: Access Medicine
eBook Packages
- AccessHemOnc This link opens in a new windowUpdated regularly, this comprehensive online HemOnc reference resource covers the entire spectrum of hematology-oncology from the basics to specialty-specific content.
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Contains landmark neurology references including Principles of Neural Science. Also contains a multimedia library featuring an Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas as well as videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring, Other online learning tools include case and self-assessment reviews, a drug database, and a 3-D brain anatomy tool.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window AccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, pediatric residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Comprehensive e-book collection covering : medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and rehabilitation sciences, ethics, education, psychology, and basic sciences.
- Elsevier Reference Works & Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window Includes: Comprehensive Toxicology Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedia of Biomedical Gerontology Encyclopedia of Bone Biology Encyclopedia of Cancer Encyclopedia of Cardiovascular Research and Medicine Encyclopedia of Endocrine Diseases Encyclopedia of Environmental Health Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology Encyclopedia of Genetics Encyclopedia of Immunobiology Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development Encyclopedia of Mental Health Encyclopedia of Neuroscience Encyclopedia of Reproduction Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine Encyclopedia of Virology International Encyclopedia of Public Health Systems Medicine: Integrative, Qualitative and Computational Approaches The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowPlatform for all American Psychiatric Association Publishing journals, the DSM, textbooks, and APA Practice Guidelines.
- Thieme MedOne ComSci This link opens in a new window A collection focusing on audiology, speech language pathology, and communication sciences. Content includes ebooks, cases, videos, and journals.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Includes Thieme's Flexibook atlases and Textbook series published in the medical and life sciences.
- Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery This link opens in a new window All-in-one access to premier neurosurgical content: hundreds of e-books, cases, and procedures plus thousands of images and videos are at your fingertips.
- Thieme MedOne Plastic Surgery This link opens in a new window A collection of plastic and reconstructive surgical content including ebooks, surgical procedures, training videos, and a Residency Board Q&A bank.
Evidence-Based Resources
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence. - DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information. - OrthoEvidence This link opens in a new window
For orthopaedics. Contains evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts, and includes Advanced Clinical Evidence (ACE) reports, blogs, podcasts.
