Patient Education
Patient education resources and handouts are available through many of the library's electronic collections.
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Collection of textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.
-
Best Practice This link opens in a new window
A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.
-
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2007-present
Access to Elsevier’s medical and surgical reference books, journals, videos, First Consult monographs, Clinics of North America, MEDLINE abstracts, drug monographs, Vitals point-of-care content, ClinicalTrials.gov, Practice Guidelines, and patient education.
-
CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, includes the e-CPS and Therapeutic Choices.
-
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based tool covering diseases, disorders, and symptoms—includes etiology, diagnosis, treatment, prognosis, prevention, and drug info. For best access, use Internet Explorer 11 or the latest Firefox, Chrome, or Edge.
-
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus, from the National Library of Medicine (NLM/NIH), offers reliable, easy-to-understand health and wellness information in English and Spanish—free of ads, accessible anytime, anywhere, on any device.
-
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical tool with drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology info, plus patient education. Mobile app offers drug data, interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal/pediatric dosing.
-
Trip This link opens in a new window
A metasearch engine for evidence-based medicine. Includes guidelines.
-
Consumer Health Information in Many Languages ResourcesConsumer health information on the web. Selected by National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Outreach Librarians
