An overview of the drug resources available at McMaster University and guidance on how to search RxTx, Micromedex, and Natural Medicines point of care tools.
Evidence Based Drug & Natural Medicine Information Sources
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowEvidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
Natural MedicinesThis link opens in a new windowCoverage: Began in 2003
It contains seven sub-databases: food, herbs and supplements; health and wellness; sports medicine; comparative effectiveness; manufacturers; commercial products and medical conditions.
CPS Full Access (formerly RxTx)This link opens in a new windowCanada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the e-CPS andTherapeutic Choices. To access the mobile app:
1. Go to www.pharmacists.ca/register4rxtx enter the Organization Code: 0064512 and complete your registration using a valid @mcmaster.ca email address.
2. Download RxTx Mobile.
3. Login using the username and password created during registration.
DynaMedThis link opens in a new windowEvidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by Randa Hilal-Dandan; Laurence Brunton; Bjorn KnollmannPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: * NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis * Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure * Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action * Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips * Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter * Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.