Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Citing Sources
Librarian
Welcome to the Health Sciences Library Guide for studies in Child Life and Pediatric Psychosocial Care. This guide has gathered relevant resources to help you succeed in your program.
Key Databases
- Emcare This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1995 - Emcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1981- Present Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Coverage:1974- Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1946- A comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
- PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1806- Provides abstracts of literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Covers journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1966- Digital library of education resources, with citations to journal articles, books, papers, reports, theses, curricula, standards and guidelines. Includes 2 parts: RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993- ), are available for free through the US Dept. of Education. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). Indexes journals (accession# start with EJ) and 'documents' (accession# start with ED). For Document fulltext, search titles in the open access ERIC (http://www.eric.ed.gov/).
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window The premiere database for locating articles in the field of sociology, Sociological Abstracts indexes some 1,800 international serial publications from 1952 to the present. Related disciplines include social and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth, non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Maximum concurrent users: 8
Clinical Tools
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
- Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
- Campbell Collaboration Provides systematic reviews in the fields of crime and justice, disability, education, international development, knowledge translation and implementation, nutrition, and social welfare.
- JSTOR JSTOR collections provide access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago. JSTOR is a backfile collection and excludes the most recent issues (as part of the terms of the agreement with the journal publishers). Each journal has a "moving wall" after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Citation Style Guides
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (available in print only)
- Library Guides: APA Style Guide (McMaster)
- APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources
- Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
- Guide to APA Style (University of Toledo)
- Guide to Citing Canadian Government Publications (Mount Allison University)
- RefWorks (bibliobraphic citation management software)
