Drugs, Natural Products, Nutrition and Alternative Medicine

With the range of psychotropic drugs expanding and the usages of existing medications diversifying, we are pleased to present the Eighth Edition of the world's best-selling formulary in psychopharmacology. The new edition features seven brand new compounds as well as information about several newly approved formulations of existing drugs. Many important new indications are covered for existing drugs, as are updates to the profiles of the entire content and collection, including new injectable and transdermal formulations, as well as updated warnings and indications. The icons and Pearls have been refreshed throughout, and with the book's its easy-to-use, full-colour template-driven navigation system, Prescriber's Guide combines evidence-based data with clinically informed advice to support everyone who is prescribing in the field of mental health.

This extensively revised second edition provides a user-friendly step-by-step manual on the range of psychotropic medications prescribed for children and adolescents by clinicians and nurse practitioners. Boasting nearly double the medications of the first edition, it features new sections related to pharmacokinetics and pharmacogenetics in children and adolescents alongside algorithms for addressing frequently encountered disorders such as anxiety, depression, bipolar disorder, ADHD, and OCD. Based on the best-seller, Stahl's Prescriber's Guide, and using a full-color template-driven navigation system, it combines evidence-based data with clinically informed guidance to support prescribers in the field. Each drug is presented in the same classic design format with illustrated guidance on dosing, titration, and pharmacogenetics/metabolism. Color-coded sections distinguish clearly the information presented on therapeutics, safety and tolerability, dosing and use, what to expect, and the art of psychopharmacology, and are followed by updated and new key references. A must-have guide for all mental health professionals.

Clinicians recognize that monitoring psychotropic levels provides invaluable information to optimize therapy and track treatment adherence, but they lack formal training specifically focused on the use of plasma antipsychotic levels for these purposes. As new technologies emerge to rapidly provide these results, the opportunity to integrate this information into clinical care will grow. This practical handbook clarifies confusing concepts in the literature on use of antipsychotic levels, providing clear explanations for the logic underlying clinically relevant concepts such as the therapeutic threshold and the point of futility, and how these apply to individual antipsychotics. It offers accessible information on the expected correlation between dosages and trough levels, and also provides a clear explanation of how to use antipsychotic levels for monitoring oral antipsychotic adherence, and methods to help clinicians differentiate between poor adherence and variations in drug metabolism. An essential resource for psychiatrists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, and mental health professionals worldwide.

Real-world and clinical trial data support that clozapine is the only effective antipsychotic for treatment resistant schizophrenia and other severe mental illnesses. Clozapine also reduces rates of suicidality, psychiatric hospitalization and all-cause mortality. However, clozapine is underutilized for two reasons: misunderstandings of its efficacy benefits and misapprehension of, limited knowledge or misinformation about the management of treatment related risks and adverse effects. In response to worldwide efforts to promote clozapine use, this user-friendly Handbook provides clinicians with evidence-based approaches for patient management, as well as logical approaches to the management of clinical situations and adverse effects. It outlines clearly the rationale for specific management decisions and prioritises the options based on this logic. This Handbook is designed for use by clinicians worldwide and is essential reading for all mental health care professionals.

Worldwide efforts to promote greater lithium use for mood disorders have increased the need for evidence-based guidance addressing key questions related to initiation, monitoring and adverse effect management. This practical handbook provides clinicians with a detailed explanation of lithium's renal journey, how this informs our understanding of polyuria pathogenesis and how medications or hyponatremia can alter lithium clearance. Covering efficacy, pharmacokinetics, toxicity, discontinuation, and use in special patient groups including pregnant and breastfeeding women, older or younger patients, each section also provides a detailed background for its suggested logical approach to managing lithium's renal and other adverse effects. Using the latest data, the book outlines rationales for specific management decisions, and prioritizes options to provide clinical guidance on the best course of action. Colour-coded lists and tables, bulleted text, and diagrams illustrate important points throughout, helping to make information accessible and easy-to-digest. An essential resource for mental health professionals worldwide.