Patient Education
Patient education resources and handouts are available through many of the library's electronic collections.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
This link opens in a new window
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
- This link opens in a new window
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
- This link opens in a new window
- CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the e-CPS andTherapeutic Choices. To access the mobile app: Here is how to get started: Go to: www.pharmacists.ca/register Enter your existing username and password. If you do not have one, please create an account. You will receive a “welcome” email asking you to create your CPhA password—follow the instructions Once your password has been set, visit the “profile” icon located at the top right of the page and select “profile” from the dropdown menu. Scroll down to the “Set Mobile Enterprise Code” section. Enter the Organization Code 0064512 and set a CPS password. Click on the “Next” button You are all set! Download the CPS mobile app on your device and use your email address and the password you just created to login These steps are only required once you have installed the app on your device for the first time. To download the content, please ensure your device is connected to WIFI.
- This link opens in a new window
- Trip This link opens in a new window
- Consumer Health Information in Many Languages ResourcesConsumer health information on the web. Selected by National Network of Libraries of Medicine Consumer Outreach Librarians
