Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
About This Page
Need some background information on a topic? You're in the right place!
Depending on the type of information you are looking for, we have identified a number of potential resources in the following categories:
- Terminology
- Pathology
- Health Promotion
- Drug Information
- Clinical Skills
- Lab Values
- Anatomy & Physiology
Click the 
for searching tips.
- Off-campus, you must log in using your MacID and password to access this content.
- This content is freely available regardless of location.
Nursing Textbooks
Your own course textbooks are a valuable source of background information!
Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing by Call Number: WY 100 .C2121 2014ISBN: 9781926648538Publication Date: 2014
Citing Sources
Terminology
- Oxford Dictionary of Nursing (5th ed.) Browse by letter, or use the Search within work tool. Martin, E., & McFerran, T. (2008). Oxford University Press (eBook).
Pathology
eBook Collections
Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Select advanced search and limit to readings. Enter the disease or condition into the search box to see relevant chapters and sections of nearly 100 authoritative textbooks. Results too generalized? Try adding the term "patho*" to your search.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Perform a basic search for the disease or condition of interest Limit your results to Books and First Consult (Clinical Summaries) down the left side of the results page Browse through relevant books, chapters, and sections
- R2 Library This link opens in a new window Perform a basic search for the disease or condition of interest Results too generalized? Try adding the term "patho*" to your search OR limiting by a specific practice area or discipline down the left side of the page
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Enter the disease or condition of interest into the search box Select the appropriate clinical topic from the result list Look in the General Information for information on Pathology
This link opens in a new window
Electronic Resources
- The Merck Manual Perform a basic search for the disease or condition of interest Locate the disease in the results list and select the pathophysiology section if present. OR Browse by Sections to find the disease or condition of interest.
Health Promotion
eBook Collections
Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Perform a Basic Search for the disease or condition of interest. Limit your results to Patient Education down the left side of the page. OR Select Patient Ed from the toolbar along the top of the page and browse by disease and age group
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Perform a basic search for the disease or condition of interest Limit your results to Patient Education down the left side of the results page
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Enter the disease or condition of interest into the search box Select the appropriate clinical topic from the result list Select Patient Education from the list of expandable article sections Follow the links to access patient education resources
- This link opens in a new window
Meta-Search
- Trip This link opens in a new windowTurning Research Into Practice
- Enter the disease or condition of interest into the search box
- Select Patient Information along the top of the results page.
Drug Information
Electronic Resources
- Merck Index Perform a Quick Search for the drug of interest. OR Use the Basic Search for more detailed search options.
eBook Collections
Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Perform a Basic Search for the disease, condition, or drug of interest. Limit your results to Drugs down the left side of the page. OR Select Drugs from the toolbar along the top of the page and browse by generic names, trade names, or drug classes
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Perform a basic search for the disease, condition, or drug of interest Limit your results to Drug Monographs down the left side of the results page
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Enter the drug of interest into the search box Select the appropriate clinical topic from the result list OR Search on the disease or condition of interest. Expand the Treatment section of the clinical topic.
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Skills
eBook Collections
Full-text search of a wide variety of health-related textbooks
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Select Multimedia and Videos by Category along the top of the page. Use the browsing headings down the left side of the page to find the procedure of interest. OR Perform a Basic Search for the procedure of interest. Limit your results to Multimedia or Images down the left side of the page.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Perform a basic search for the procedure of interest. Limit your results to Videos or Images down the left side of the page.
Meta-Search
- Trip This link opens in a new windowTurning Research Into Practice
- Enter the disease or condition of interest into the search box
- Select Videos or Images along the top of the results page.
Videos, Images, Online Tools
Lab Values/Normal Values
- The Merck Manual Select Normal Laboratory Values down the left side of the home page. Choose the appropriate table for your area of interest.
Anatomy & Physiology
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Large ebook collection (various specialties) containing medical illustrations accompanied by explanatory text
- Winking Skull: Human Anatomy Study AidTo access content, you must register for a free account.
- MacAnatomyOnline portal created by the Education Program in Anatomy
