Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
History of Nursing
Quick Guides
-
Literature SearchingReinforce and support your understanding of the literature search process with this, printable, single-page guide
-
Searching the Health Sciences LibraryUnderstand the fundamentals of doing research at HSL with this, printable, single-page guide.
Worksheets
Research Support
Study Design
-
NCCMT Registry of Methods and ToolsNational Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
-
Qualitative vs. Quantitative ResearchKey Points in a Classic Debate
Citing Sources
About This Page
Sometimes, your information needs will require you to look beyond the core resources outlined on the Background & Foreground Info pages.
On this page, you'll discover sources for interdisciplinary information and grey literature (government and organizational reports, statistics, conference proceedings, etc.).
You'll also find tips, tools, and tutorials for performing more intensive research like literature reviews.
Key Resources
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1981-present
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. View Tutorial
-
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1995-present
Emcare is a global nursing and healthcare database covering nursing specialties, allied health, midwifery, psychiatry, emergency care, healthcare management, education, and both clinical and non-clinical fields.
-
Ovid Databases This link opens in a new windowMedline, EMBASE, PsycINFO, AMED, and more. View Tutorial
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1940-present
Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1940s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. View Tutorial
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1990-present
The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care. View Tutorial
Additional Information Sources
Business/Administration
-
Healthstar/Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new windowHealth services, technology, administration, and research
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1965-present, with some coverage dating back to 1886
The industry's most widely used business research database, Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.
Consumer Health
Drug Therapy
Education
Physiotherapy
-
PEDro This link opens in a new windowContains randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines.
Public Health
Sociology
-
The Campbell CollaborationSystematic reviews in education, crime and justice, social welfare, and international development
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowContaining articles in the field of sociology
Grey Literature
Health and Community Statistics Information
-
Statistics CanadaStatistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision makers.
-
CANSIM This link opens in a new window
CANSIM is Statistics Canada's free database of time series data on Canada's economy and society, covering areas like labour, trade, finance, and more, with some US and international data included.
-
Statistics Canada Data TablesThis series of cross-tabulations presents a portrait of Canada based on the various census topics. They range in complexity and are available for various levels of geography.
-
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)The Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) provides comparable and actionable data and information that are used to accelerate improvements in health care, health system performance and population health across Canada.
-
OECD iLibrary Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. Users can download this software and data onto their personal computers. To use in Mills Library, please consult: Mills, Data Services
2021 Canadian Census Information
Papers/Conference Proceedings
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980-present
Indexes 2M+ dissertations and theses from accredited North American and select European institutions. Includes abstracts (since 1980 for dissertations, 1988 for theses) and full-text access to many McMaster works. Most previews available for works since 1997.
-
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1993-present
An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
-
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1993-present
An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.
All Databases Available Through McMaster Libraries
-
Databases ListView all databases available to the McMaster University community. Filter by subject, database type, and/or user type.
