History of Midwifery
Quick Guides
- Literature Searching Reinforce and support your understanding of the literature search process with this, printable, single-page guide
- Searching the Health Sciences Library Understand the fundamentals of doing research at HSL with this, printable, single-page guide.
Worksheets
- Starting Your Literature Search Familiarize yourself with databases, develop your research question, identify your search concepts, develop a preliminary search strategy, and prepare for a research consultation.
- Search Grid Develop and track your search concepts and limits across multiple databases
Lecture Slides
- Literature Searching Comprehensive explanation of the literature search process. Includes a list of key sources for health sciences and peripheral literature.
Research Support
- Internet for MidwiferyOnline research tutorial, specific to midwifery.
Study Design
- NCCMT Registry of Methods and ToolsNational Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
- Qualitative vs. Quantitative ResearchKey Points in a Classic Debate
Quick Reference
- Vancouver Style Citation GuideUniversity of Queensland
Other Databases to Consider
- The Campbell CollaborationSystematic reviews in education, crime and justice, social welfare, and international development
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Containing articles in the field of sociology.
- Healthstar/Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new window Health services, technology, administration, and research.
Key Resources
These resources should get you off to a good start. For a more comprehensive list, explore the other pages of this guide.
Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1981- Present Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- CMO Standards of PracticeCollege of Midwives of Ontario
- SOGC Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologist of Canada.
Effective January 3, 2017, full access to JOGC content published after January 1, 2016 (including Clinical Practice Guidelines, Committee Opinions, Technical Updates, and all articles) is a benefit of SOGC membership. - Best Practice GuidelinesRegistered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO)
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
Abstract Journals
- Evidence-Based Midwifery Sign in at the top right corner of the journal homepage to access full text articles. Username: 861054 Password: monkey
Grey Literature
- CADTH Literature Searching ToolsIncludes resources on Grey Literature, Peer Review Search Strategies, and Search Development
- Reports (Midwifery)
- "Giving Birth in Canada"Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
- "Midwifery and Aboriginal Midwifery in Canada"National Aboriginal Health Organization (NAHO)
- "Investing in Midwives and Others with Midwifery Skills"United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
- Health Statistics
- Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
- OECD iLibrary Health Statistics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. Users can download this software and data onto their personal computers. To use in Mills Library, please consult: Mills, Data Services
- CANSIM This link opens in a new window CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is Statistics Canada's database of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.
- 2011 Canadian Census Information
- Papers/Conference Proceedings
- ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
- PapersFirst This link opens in a new window An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1980- Indexes over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at accredited North American and selected European colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350 word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150 word abstracts. Includes full-text access to many McMaster theses (send an email to request one). For other institutions, 24 page previews are available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published since 1997.
In the Health Sciences Library
Principles and Practice of Research in Midwifery by Call Number: WQ 160 .P957 2000ISBN: 0443101949Publication Date: 2006This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. Written by authors with clinical and research experience, this book is intended for midwives and student midwives participating in Diploma, Advanced Diploma and first level degree programmes. It aims to increase research awareness and develop the skills of critical appraisal of research evidence that are essential to evidence based practice. Key features: · Introduces research methods in midwifery · Discusses the application of research to practice and looks at the route from practice to research · Presents both quantitative and qualitative research methods · Provides a framework for the appraisal of midwifery research evidence · New chapters on evidence based research and interviewing in qualitative research · Maternity care related examples used throughout. New chapter on interviewing as a means of data collection, including information on using focus groups New chapter on evidence-based practice including issues around supervision for evidence-based projects Inclusion of new material in relation to such topics as undertaking case studies
Linking Research and Practice in Midwifery by Call Number: WQ 160 .L756 2000Publication Date: 2000HSL - Lower Level
Search the Library Catalogue
Search across the collections of all McMaster's libraries to find ebooks, print books, journals, databases and more.
Searching Tutorials
Having trouble starting your search? Try watching these helpful database tutorials:
- CINAHL Tutorials Searching the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database
- OVID Medline Tutorials Searching the biomedical database Medline, using the Ovid search interface
