Rehabilitation Resources

Alumni Library Services - Graduates of McMaster University are issued an Alumni Library Card at no charge, with proof of graduation. Use it to sign out books and access limited online resources. Renew cards annually.

The resources listed below can be accessed for free on the web unless otherwise stated.

• Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
• The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
• Google Scholar
• Google
• Practice Guidelines
• Bookshelf from NCBI

• Wheeless' Texbook of Orthopaedics
• MedlinePlus: Rehabilitation
• Medscape -- Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

• PubMed
• TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) - is a clinical search engine designed to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support your practice and/or care.
• Accessss Federated Search -  Accessss is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature
• REHAB+ - McMaster Knowledge Refinery & McMaster School of Rehabilitation Sciences - citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing occupational and physical therapists (includes an email alerting service)
• Evidently Cochrane - aims to make Cochrane evidence really accessible through blogs which usually feature new or updated Cochrane reviews on a health topic.
• Cochrane Reviews - free access to the abstracts and some plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews
• Epistemonikos - Meta-search in 9 languages
• HTA Database Search Interface -  a single repository for HTA reports (Canadian and International) - by Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)
• National Collaborating Centres for Public Health - identifies knowledge gaps, foster networks and provide the Canadian public health system with evidence-based resources, multi-media products, and knowledge translation services
• Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) Structured abstracts of quality-assessed reviews produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York
• PEDro -- The Physiotherapy Evidence Database
• OTseeker: Occupational Therapy Systematic Evaluation of Evidence
• SUMSearch
• MedlinePlus
• REHABDATA Literature Database - produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center
• NeuroBITE - database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI)
• ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

• Occupational therapy networks - Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists (CAOT)
• Practice tools - CAOT
• Steinfeld E, Lenker J, Paquet V. The Anthropometrics of disability: an international workshop. Prepared for the U.S. Access Board. Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center on Universal Design. School of Architecture and Planning, University of Buffalo, c2001, 2002.
• National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research (NCDRR)
• National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)
• Administration for Community Living (ACL) - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)
• Brain Injury Association of America (BIAA)
• Professional Development - CAOT - resources include courses, workshops, books, journals, grant and scholarship information, coaching/mentoring services and more

• OrthoEvidence - OE identifies, filters, and summarizes the best musculoskeletal research to provide succinct summaries designed for the busy practitioner - CPA members
• Practice Resources - Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA)
• Events - CPA
• Physical Therapist Online -- Physical Therapy Related Links (Physical Therapist.com)
• Physical Therapy information on the web
• PT Central