Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
eBook Packages
- AccessHemOnc This link opens in a new window Updated regularly, this comprehensive online HemOnc reference resource covers the entire spectrum of hematology-oncology from the basics to specialty-specific content. AccessHemOnc can assist fellows and residents in strengthening their skills with instant access to multimedia and leading textbooks that will establish a solid base for learning and allow practicing physicians to reinforce their medical knowledge for re-certification.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of textbooks covering basic and clinical sciences. Contains the latest editions of selected medical titles. Includes image and audio files, drug database, differential diagnosis, laboratory tests, guidelines and patient handouts.
- AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content. Contains landmark neurology references including Principles of Neural Science. Also contains a multimedia library featuring an Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas as well as videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring, Other online learning tools include case and self-assessment reviews, a drug database, and a 3-D brain anatomy tool.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window AccessPediatrics from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, pediatric residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive online pediatric resource provides instant access to information essential for completing evaluation, diagnosis, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review -- all in one place.
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including the interactive program entitled: Anatomy & physiology revealed. Also includes access to the F.A Davis PT Collection.
- Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Comprehensive e-book collection covering : medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and rehabilitation sciences, ethics, education, psychology, and basic sciences.
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- Elsevier Reference Works & Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window Includes: Comprehensive Toxicology Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedia of Biomedical Gerontology Encyclopedia of Bone Biology Encyclopedia of Cancer Encyclopedia of Cardiovascular Research and Medicine Encyclopedia of Endocrine Diseases Encyclopedia of Environmental Health Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine Encyclopedia of Gastroenterology Encyclopedia of Genetics Encyclopedia of Immunobiology Encyclopedia of Infant and Early Childhood Development Encyclopedia of Mental Health Encyclopedia of Neuroscience Encyclopedia of Reproduction Encyclopedia of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine Encyclopedia of Virology International Encyclopedia of Public Health Systems Medicine: Integrative, Qualitative and Computational Approaches The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowPlatform for all American Psychiatric Association Publishing journals, the DSM, textbooks, and APA Practice Guidelines.
- R2 Library This link opens in a new window The R2 Digital Library platform features a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks.
- Thieme MedOne ComSci This link opens in a new window A collection focusing on audiology, speech language pathology, and communication sciences. Content includes ebooks, cases, videos, and journals.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Includes Thieme's Flexibook atlases and Textbook series published in the medical and life sciences.
- Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery This link opens in a new window All-in-one access to premier neurosurgical content: hundreds of e-books, cases, and procedures plus thousands of images and videos are at your fingertips.
- Thieme MedOne Plastic Surgery This link opens in a new window A collection of plastic and reconstructive surgical content including ebooks, surgical procedures, training videos, and a Residency Board Q&A bank.
Article Databases
- AMED This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1985- Allied and Complimentary Medicine (AMED) is a database of journal articles in fields allied to medicine and alternatives to conventional medicine.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1981- Present Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
- Embase This link opens in a new window Coverage:1974- Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1946- A comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
- PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1806- Provides abstracts of literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics. Covers journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1976- (May vary by Index) Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. •Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) •Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
