Search the Library Catalogue
Search across the collections of all McMaster's libraries to find ebooks, print books, journals, databases and more.
Connecting to library resources from home
To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, use your MS Office 365 account (e.g., Yourmacid@mcmaster.ca).
-
Use your MacID to access wireless Internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam. What is Eduroam?
-
Most of the required readings will be included in the courseware or core textbooks.
Need Assistance?
There are a number of good online tutorials available for searching OVID, CINAHL, PubMed, RefWorks, etc. and for the library catalogue.
Contact the Health Sciences Library Information Desk Monday - Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 905-525-9140 x22327 or by email (hslib@mcmaster.ca).
Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
Health Databases & Indexes
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window EBSCO Host Full text for nursing and allied health journals included in the CINAHL index – covers biomedicine, health sciences, alternative medicine, and more.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
- Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window(e.g. MEDLINE, EMBASE, HealthSTAR, Global Health)
Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.
Our premium resources include:
More than 4,500 ebooks and many book collections, including archive collections of critical historical material, as well as publisher and topical collections
Over 1,300 premium, peer–reviewed journals-with no embargoes (one exception, the journal Science has a 3 month embargo). Plus, dozens of journal collections, including archive collections and packages based on publisher or subject content
Over 100 bibliographic and full–text databases
Our content covers a wide range of core and niche scientific, medical, and healthcare disciplines including:
Medicine
Nursing & Health Professions
Behavioral Sciences
Basic Sciences
Humanities & Technologies
What to do when McMaster does not have electronic access to a journal article
- Search Library Catalogue.
- Use Interlibrary Loan service - to request items not held in the McMaster Libraries (for more information click here)
- Search other Library Catalogues
