Testimonials
Justine Hamilton, Director of Clinical Education (Speech Language Pathology); Interprofessional Education Lead, Speech Language Pathology
The phrase “when you’re a hammer, everything looks like a nail” really highlights the importance of IPE for me. Each individual discipline tends to look at a client through the lens of their discipline’s training, meaning that the exact same symptom may be interpreted in different ways by different team members. It is only through IPE that we can appreciate the holistic nature of each individual client’s experience and ensure we manage their rehabilitation needs in the most efficient and effective way possible.
Ohood Elzibak, Interprofessional Education Lead, Physician Assistant Program
As an orthopaedic surgery PA, I am a member of a diverse team of healthcare professionals who all play a key role in caring for our patients effectively and efficiently in the fracture clinic, operating room, wards and outpatient clinics. I value the importance of early exposure to interprofessionalism and strive to provide varied experiences for our 1st and 2nd year PA students to allow them to learn about the roles of their fellow colleagues while also advocating for their own profession. A team approach to healthcare creates a positive and inclusive environment, where all healthcare roles are respected and all colleagues are valued and appreciated.
Justin Phung, IPE LibGuide Student Partner
The development of this LibGuide was itself a prime example of interprofessional collaboration. As a student partner, I collaborated with key leads in the health professions programs who offered valuable insight and perspective to the creation of this LibGuide. Along the way, I was able to dive into the vast world of IPE literature, learning about the intersection of varying health professions and fostering a greater understanding of its importance. I'm excited to see where the world of IPE takes us, and I hope this LibGuide helps you in your IPE exploration. My appreciation to Sarah Wojkowski and Laura Banfield for their dedication and guidance throughout the process!
Subject Guide
Introduction
Welcome to the Interprofessional Education LibGuide!
This guide is intended to help clinicians, students, instructors, and any individuals interested in Interprofessional Education (IPE) to find the content and resources you require. This could involve:
-
Help with assignments and training expectations​
-
Important theories, models, and frameworks within IPE
-
Skills, knowledge and resources required to develop interprofessional collaboration​
-
Searching for IPE resources and literature
-
And more!
This LibGuide was developed collaboratively between the Health Sciences Library (HSL) and the Program for Interprofessional Practice, Education and Research (PIPER). Funding for this project was provided by the MacPherson Institute as part of the Student Partners Program.
Using This Guide
Theories, Models, & Frameworks - This tab provides information on IPE theories, models, and frameworks.
Discover IPE Evidence - This tab contains IPE-related journals, databases, articles, Grey and Published literature searching, and a guide to searching for IPE evidence.
Discover IPE Resources - This tab contains IPE-related tools and resources including videos, case studies, teaching resources, and a guide to searching for IPE resources.
Other IPE Topics - This tab contains IPE health policies, evaluation tools, conferences, and guides to developing and facilitating IPE.
External Links - This tab contains links to professional associations, curriculum standards, clinical practice guidelines, and accreditation organizations.
IPE & FHS - This tab provides resources related to IPE in the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS) at McMaster, the IPE competencies, as well as MacSphere where you can find PIPER research and presentations.
MISC (Students) - This tab for students provides information regarding the McMaster Interprofessional Student Collaborative, or MISC.
Importance of IPE
What is interprofessional education?
"Interprofessional Education (IPE) occurs when students from two or more professions learn about, from and with each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes" (WHO, 2010).
What is collaborative practice?
"Collaborative practice occurs when multiple health workers from different backgrounds work together with patients, families, caregivers and communities to deliver the highest quality of care" (WHO, 2010).
To view the FHS's strategic goals and priorities, click here.
Common Acronyms
FHS = Faculty of Health Sciences (at McMaster University)
IPE = Interprofessional Education
PIPER = Program for Interprofessional Practice, Education and Research
MISC = McMaster Interprofessional Student Collaborative
References
1. World Health Organization. (2010). Framework for action on interprofessional education and collaborative practice (No. WHO/HRH/HPN/10.3). World Health Organization. Retrieved from http://apps.who.int/iris/bitstream/handle/10665/70185/WHO_HRH_HPN_10.3_eng.pdf?sequence=1
