It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physician Assistants: Home
Explore library resources for the Physician Assistants program at McMaster.
This guide has been developed to identify library and internet resources that support the learning objectives of the Physician Assistants Program at McMaster University. If you find a resource that you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Susanna Galbraith, including the full URL of the resource and a brief description.
Health sciences research can be interpreted as strongly evidence-based to poorly evidence-based. Learn more about how various health resources and clinical tools can be analyzed using the library's Evidence-Based Practice guide.
Best used in clinical settings for looking up excellent evidence-based information.
UpToDateEvidence-based decision support tool for clinical point-of-care
* On-campus use only
Note: The School of Medicine holds a subscription that includes remote access for medical students. It is facilitated through MedPortal.
DynaMedEvidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
Note: For seamless and secure access to DynaMed, please upgrade to Internet Explorer 11 or the latest version of Firefox, Chrome, or Edge.
Best PracticeCoverage: 2009-
Evidence-based. A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
Clinical KeyProvides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
IsabelPhysicians around the world use Isabel to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, Isabel provides physicians with a list of possible diagnoses to help them construct their thinking and make an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.
Find Research Articles in Health Sciences Databases
Best used when looking for individual research studies when conducting a literature or systematic review.
PubMedIncludes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
Web of ScienceCoverage: 1976- (May vary by Index)
Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination.
•Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI)
•Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S)
•Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)
Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database launched in 2004, featuring scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Read the latest research in the Physician Assistants field.
The small lock iconbeside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Visible Body Human Anatomy AtlasVisible Body is a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality, and more.