Welcome!
This guide has been developed to identify library and internet resources that support the learning objectives of the Physician Assistants Program at McMaster University. If you find a resource that you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Susanna Galbraith, including the full URL of the resource and a brief description.
Evidence-Based Practice
Health sciences research can be interpreted as strongly evidence-based to poorly evidence-based. Learn more about how various health resources and clinical tools can be analyzed using the library's Evidence-Based Practice guide.
JAMA Evidence and the User's Guides
Canadian Practice Guidelines
Popular Clinical Tools
Best used in clinical settings for looking up excellent evidence-based information.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
- Isabel This link opens in a new window Isabel is used to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis at the point of care.
- CPS Full Access (formerly RxTx) This link opens in a new window Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care. Includes the e-CPS andTherapeutic Choices. To access the mobile app: 1. Go to www.pharmacists.ca/register4rxtx enter the Organization Code: 0064512 and complete your registration using a valid @mcmaster.ca email address. 2. Download RxTx Mobile. 3. Login using the username and password created during registration.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
- VisualDX This link opens in a new window A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.
Find Research Articles in Health Sciences Databases
Best used when looking for individual research studies when conducting a literature or systematic review.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1946- A comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information. A free version of MEDLINE is offered through PUBMED.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Coverage:1974- Biomedical database with coverage that encompasses more European and International content than Medline.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1976- (May vary by Index) Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. •Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) •Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Coverage: 2004- Scopus is an abstract and citation database launched in 2004, featuring scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Journals
Read the latest research in the Physician Assistants field.
Library Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Popular Textbooks
Textbook Collections
Popular Anatomy Resources
- Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window Users need to create a visible body account to access product. Visible Body is a suite of online programs that cover anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, augmented reality, and more.
- MacAnatomy McMaster's own virtual Anatomy lab.
Drug Information
- CPS (formerly RxTx) Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Evidence-based clinical tool includes a collection of drug databases from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. Mobile app: drug information, drug interactions, IV compatibility, and neonatal and pediatric drug information.
