Connecting to library resources from home
To access the library's rich collection of online resources including databases, journal articles and books, use your MS Office 365 account (e.g., Yourmacid@mcmaster.ca).
-
Use your MacID to access wireless Internet networks at other institutions with Eduroam. What is Eduroam?
-
Most of the required readings will be included in the courseware or core textbooks.
How to find full text
Find Full Text - including within the McMaster collection, on a journal's website, through Interlibrary Loans and conference proceedings
What to do when McMaster does not have electronic access to a journal article
- Search Library Catalogue.
- Use Interlibrary Loan service - to request items not held in the McMaster Libraries (for more information click here)
- Search other Library Catalogues
Health Databases
- Ovid Databases This link opens in a new window(MEDLINE, EMBASE, EMCARE, Global Health, HealthSTAR, PsycINFO)
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1981- Present Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. Maximum concurrent users: 8
Business/Social Sciences/Economics Databases
- Business Source Premierpopular and scholarly business literature
- Conference Board of Canada e-LibraryReports - Search or Browse by Topic (e.g. "Health & Health Care" under the "Public Policy" category)
- FactivaNews articles - Search for keywords and/or click on the "News Pages" tab and select "Health Care" from the drop-down menu to view the latest headlines
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) online library of books, reports, working papers, periodicals and statistical data covering a wide range of subjects including agriculture and food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, governance, industry and services, social issues, migration and health, taxation and transport. Search by keyword(s) or browse by theme or by country name. McMaster does not subscribe to the IEA Statistics.
General Databases
- Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
- Web of Science(1976- present) (Science Citation Index / Social Science Citation Index)
- Finding Grey LiteratureStart your Grey Literature search with this guide containing resources and strategies for discovering research produced outside traditional commercial or academic publishing channels.
Additional Resources
- Searching the Literature: The BasicsLearn how to effectively search the literature with tips on asking questions, selecting resources, and developing search terms.
- How to Search the Literature (Advanced)This guide provides a framework for searching the research literature. Keep in mind that searching is an iterative process, as such you may need to review and revise steps at any point.
- Researcher's Tookit: The Research CycleFind information resources and services to help work through the stages of a research project from creation to closure.
- Graduate Guide to ResearchMcMaster University
- Open Access publishingincluding author fee agreements and discounts
Need Assistance?
There are a number of good online tutorials available for searching Ovid, CINAHL, PubMed, etc. and for the Library Catalogue.
Also, check out the How Library Stuff Works - video tutorials
Contact the Health Sciences Library Information Desk Monday - Friday from 9:00 am to 5:00pm at 905-525-9140 ext. 22327 or by email (hslib@mcmaster.ca).
OR
RJC Research Services by email (rjclib@mcmaster.ca) – Business support OR Research Help
Specialized services - including data services & support, data visualization, GIS & geospatial data, maps & geographical resource services
Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
