What is Grey Literature?
“…information produced on all levels of government, academia, business and industry in electronic and print formats not controlled by commercial publishing i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body.”
Schnopfel J. Towards a Prague definition of grey literature. Presented at: Twelfth International Conference on Grey Literature: Transparency in Grey Literature. Grey Tech Approaches to High Tech Issues. Prague, 6-7 Dec 2010, Czech Republic. pp.11-26. Available from: http://archivesic.ccsd.cnrs.fr/sic_00581570/document
How to Find Grey Literature
- Grey Matters: CADTHA practical tool for searching health-related grey literature
General Grey Literature Repositories
- Open GreySystem for Information on Grey Literature in Europe, is your open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents.
- Grey Literature ReportThe report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics.
- OAIsterA catalog of millions of records of open access digital resources, created by the Open Archives Initiative.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThe Directory of Open Access Repositoires, OpenDOAR, is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Grey Literature Repositories: Public Health
- Canadian Best Practices Portal. Public Health Agency of CanadaThis portal provides a consolidated one-stop shop for busy health professionals and public health decision-makers.
- PHIRNThe PHIRN library is a searchable repository of academic and grey literature on population health equity and intervention research undertaken in and on the province of Ontario.
- NCCMT Registry of Methods and ToolsNational Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
- Social Science Research NetworkSocial Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
Canadian Research
- Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
Conference Proceedings
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination.
- ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new windowAn index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
Mental Health Grey Literature
- CAMH Mental HealthThis guide will help you find essential documents in mental health to supplement your research
