Healthy Eating
- Canada's Food GuideVisit this page to access Canada's Food Guide. This page also has links to other resources and recipes.
- Health CanadaThis site has information on food recalls, safety standards, and much more.
- Unlock FoodUnlockFood helps Canadians connect with a dietitian and find the nutrition and food information that they need when they need it.
Books
Nutrition : maintaining and improving health by
Following the tradition of its predecessor, the fifth edition of Nutrition: Maintaining and Improving Health continues to offer a wide-ranging coverage of all aspects of nutrition while providing new information to this edition including: Increased coverage of experimental and observational methods used in nutrition In-depth focus on the nutritional implications of the increased adoption of vegetarian and vegan lifestyles Streamlined referencing - a short selected list of key references at the end of each chapter with URL links to free additional resources where possible Discussion of nutrition debates Critical coverage of "medicinal uses of food" including superfoods, functional foods and dietary supplements Updated bullet point summaries of key points after each major topic within each chapter The author provides an evidence-based evaluation of many key nutrition beliefs and philosophies. The book contains in-depth and critical reviews of the methods used to evaluate nutritional intakes/status and the observational and experimental used to investigate putative links between dietary factors and health outcome. It covers the role of food as a source of energy and nutrients while discussing the non-nutritional roles of food and the social and psychological factors that influence food choice. Presenting a critical discussion on the value of nutrition research linking specific foods or nutrients to specific diseases which encourages students to question the value of some current nutrition research. This is essential reading for all nutrition and dietetics students with different backgrounds who are studying nutrition as a specific discipline for the first time.
ISBN: 9781351058063Publication Date: 2019-11-04
Nutrition in Clinical Practice by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Designed for busy clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their routine patient encounters, Nutrition in Clinical Practice translates the robust evidence base underlying nutrition in health and disease into actionable, evidence-based clinical guidance on a comprehensive array of nutrition topics. Authoritative, thoroughly referenced, and fully updated, the revised 4th edition covers the full scope of nutrition applications in clinical practice, spanning health promotion, risk factor modification, prevention, chronic disease management, and weight control - with a special emphasis on providing concisely summarized action steps within the clinical workflow. Edited by Dr. David L. Katz (a world-renowned expert in nutrition, preventive medicine, and lifestyle medicine) along with Drs. Kofi D. Essel, Rachel S.C. Friedman, Shivam Joshi, Joshua Levitt, and Ming-Chin Yeh, Nutrition in Clinical Practice is a must-have resource for practicing clinicians who want to provide well-informed, compassionate, and effective nutritional counseling to patients. Features short, easily digestible chapters with updated references. Includes comprehensive updates throughout, as well as a newly expanded section on Contemporary Topics in Nutrition. Covers key topics such as the ketogenic diet, intermittent fasting, ultraprocessed food, and strength of evidence assessment in nutrition. Provides data from recent nutritional studies, helpful nutrition data tables, clinically relevant formulas, and patient-specific meal planners. Addresses special topics such as pregnancy and lactation, pediatric nutrition, athletic performance and sports nutrition, health effects of specific foods, plant-based diets, and many more. Features expert contributions from authors with diverse expertise and practical experience in medical education, clinical practice, and preventive medicine. , Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. ,
ISBN: 9781975161491Publication Date: 2022-01-08
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
An AJN Book of the Year Award Winner! Meet the ever-changing demands of providing quality nutritional care for patients across the lifespan. This popular text provides a strong foundation in the science of nutrition and a clear understanding of how to apply that knowledge in practice, recognizing the need for nurses to work with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal nutrition in patient care. Thoroughly updated and revised, it combines nursing care with the nutritional information pertinent to today's classroom and clinical practice settings. "The nursing students really struggled with nutrition concepts and application to nursing. The book is well written and easy for the student to understand. Our Nutrition ATI scores improved dramatically after adding the book to the nursing courses." - Carolyn Boiman PhD, RN, Instructor
ISBN: 9780803637184Publication Date: 2014-08-11
