Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Search the Library Catalogue
Search across the collections of all McMaster's libraries to find ebooks, print books, journals, databases and more.
Global Health Atlases
These online atlases present international information in a geographical context, with a heavy focus on interactive maps. Find detailed information on particular countries, or view specific health indicators on a global scale.
- CIA - The World FactbookA collection of regional & world maps and extensive country profiles. The “Country Comparisons” tool allows you to compare geographical and health data for multiple nations.
- HealthMap - Global Health Local KnowledgeUp to date listings of current disease outbreaks and warnings around the world. Offers searching by disease, location, date, and species.
- World Bank - eAtlas of Global DevelopmentAllows interactive mapping of over 175 indicators on the international topics of health, education, economy, and more. Download custom maps for use in presentations and reports.
Databases
These resources contain bibliographic records for academic journal articles, research papers, reports, and more. Advanced search tools help you quickly locate relevant information in thousands of core health sciences journals (English and foreign language) and a large collection of global health publications.
- Global Health Library - WHOSearch multiple English and foreign language databases, including: MEDLINE, WHOLIS, LILACS, AIM, IMEMR, IMSEAR, & WPRIM.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window Provides access to the books, papers, and statistics of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Topics: Nursing and Allied HealthCoverage: Academic journals (4,900+); magazines; dissertations, and more
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Topics: Life Sciences and Bionmedical InformationCoverage: Academic journals (5,500+); magazines; audio-visual materials, and more
- Global Health This link opens in a new window The only specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Topics: Biomedicine, Clinical Medicine, Pharmacology, & Medical DevicesCoverage: Academic journals (8,300+); dissertations; conference proceedings, and more.
Health Data & Statistics
These resources contain information from leading global health organizations around the world. Extensive data sets on various health indicators can be viewed, downloaded, and manipulated through a number of unique visualization options. Many of these resources also provide access to statistical analysis in the form of organizational reports.
- OECD iLibrary Health Statistics This link opens in a new window Built-in software allows you to manipulate raw data sets (selecting variables, countries, and time periods) to create custom tables and graphs.
- WHO GHO - World Health Organization Global Health ObservatoryAccess national and regional data sets in a number of preset visualization outputs (tables, graphs, interactive maps). Track statistical trends with WHO reports and country profiles.
- HealthStats: World Bank - Health, Nutrition and Population Data and StatisticsAccess data sets on global health, nutrition, and population by country, topic, or indicator and choose from a variety of display options (tables, charts, maps).
- GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 28,000 outbreaks, 39,000+ graphs, and 100,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
- GapminderSearch for data sets from a wide variety of global health organizations and create unique interactive graphs to help visualize trends.
- Childinfo.org - UNICEFFind statistical analysis and data visualizations (maps, graphs, etc.) on the topic of children's and women's health around the world. Also provides access to UNICEF reports and publications.
Databases from Other Disciplines...the list will grow as you explore
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1940 to the present A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window The premiere database for locating articles in the field of sociology, Sociological Abstracts indexes some 1,800 international serial publications from 1952 to the present. Related disciplines include social and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth, non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
- GEOBASE This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1980 to the present Interdisciplinary database covering physical and human geography, geology, ecology, and Third World studies.Contains references to over 1.1 million journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, etc. from over 2,065 journals and other sources. Includes abstracts.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1785 to the present Covers worldwide literature in geology and earth sciences. Contains references to over 2.3 million journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses from over 25,150 sources. Includes abstracts.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window The industry's most widely used business research database, Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1976- (May vary by Index) Core collection consists of five separate multidisciplinary citation indexes that can be searched independently or in combination. •Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) •Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) •Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) •Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) Indexes cited references per year from over 8,000 scholarly journals. It contains bibliographic information on all types of documents appearing in journals including articles, citations, letters, corrections, additions, excerpts, editorials and reviews.
