Welcome!
This guide has been developed to identify library and internet resources that support the learning objectives of the Midwifery Program at McMaster University. If you find a resource that you feel might be appropriate, please send an email to Laura Banfield, including the full URL of the resource and a brief description.
Course Websites:
Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Key Resources
These resources should get you off to a good start. For a more comprehensive list, explore the other pages of this guide.
Databases
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1981- Present Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Includes citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- CMO Standards of PracticeCollege of Midwives of Ontario
- SOGC Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologist of Canada.
Effective January 3, 2017, full access to JOGC content published after January 1, 2016 (including Clinical Practice Guidelines, Committee Opinions, Technical Updates, and all articles) is a benefit of SOGC membership. - Best Practice GuidelinesRegistered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO)
- NICE Clinical GuidelinesNational Institute for Health and Clinical Evidence, UK
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
Abstract Journals
- Evidence-Based Midwifery Sign in at the top right corner of the journal homepage to access full text articles. Username: 861054 Password: monkey
Subject Guide
Meta-Search
Use these resources to search across multiple databases.
- Accessss This link opens in a new window Accessss (formerly MacPLUS) Federated Search is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
Search the Library Catalogue
Search across the collections of all McMaster's libraries to find ebooks, print books, journals, databases and more.
