Evidence-Based Practice Resources
- Resources for Evidence-Based PracticeHelpful guide to EBP resources and information including forming a question - McMaster
- Accessss This link opens in a new window designed to find the best evidence-based answer to clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature
- OrthoEvidenceOrthoEvidence is the source for high quality, current orthopaedic–only evidence-based summaries, pre-appraised by orthopaedic medical experts. OrthoEvidence is intended to provide critical information access to orthopaedic healthcare providers and their patients everywhere.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window point-of-care, decision support tool
- This link opens in a new window
- PEDroThe Physiotherapy Evidence Database
- Critically Appraised Topics in Rehabilitation TherapySchool of Rehabilitation Therapy, Queen's University
- JAMAEvidenceIncludes three textbooks: Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice, 2nd edition, The rational clinical examination : evidence-based clinical diagnosis, and Care at the close of life : evidence and experience. This database also includes education guides, glossary, calculators, learning tools, custom curriculum, and audio content.
Evidence-Based Practice - overview
- Evidence-based resourcesArranged according to the 6S hierarchy
- Accessing preappraised evidence: fine-tuning the 5S model into a 6S model.DiCenso, Alba, LizBayley, and R B BHaynes. "ACP Journal Club. Editorial" Annals of Internal Medicine 151.6 (2009):JC3-2, JC3.
Learner's guide to "evidence-based" - a brief introduction to the evidence based resources and guides available through the Health Sciences Library - video
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- Rehabilitation after critical illnessNational Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. Rehabilitation after critical illness. NICE clinical guideline 83. Developed by the Centre for Clinical Practice at NICE, 2009.
- Rehabilitation GuidelinesEvidence based rehabilitation database from the University of Ottawa.
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviewsvia Cochrane Library.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)via Cochrane Library.
- Systematic ReviewsNHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York
- CovidenceCovidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic reviews. It supports citation screening, full text review, risk of bias assessment, and more. McMaster now provides unlimited access to university affiliates.
Contact Us
Health Sciences Library,
McMaster University
1280 Main St. West HSC-2B
Hamilton, ON
L8S 4K1
Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 22327
Email: hslib@mcmaster.ca
