About This Page
Sometimes, your information needs will require you to look beyond the core resources outlined on the Background & Foreground Info pages.
On this page, you'll discover sources for interdisciplinary information and grey literature (government and organizational reports, statistics, conference proceedings, etc.).
You'll also find tips, tools, and tutorials for performing more intensive research like literature reviews.
Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
History of Nursing
Quick Guides
- Literature SearchingReinforce and support your understanding of the literature search process with this, printable, single-page guide
- Searching the Health Sciences LibraryUnderstand the fundamentals of doing research at HSL with this, printable, single-page guide.
Worksheets
- Starting Your Literature Search Familiarize yourself with databases, develop your research question, identify your search concepts, develop a preliminary search strategy, and prepare for a research consultation.
- Search Grid Develop and track your search concepts and limits across multiple databases
Lecture Slides
- Literature Searching Comprehensive explanation of the literature search process. Includes a list of key sources for health sciences and peripheral literature.
Research Support
Study Design
- NCCMT Registry of Methods and ToolsNational Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools
- Qualitative vs. Quantitative ResearchKey Points in a Classic Debate
Citing Sources
Key Resources
- Emcare This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1995 - Emcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
- Ovid Databases This link opens in a new windowMedline, EMBASE, PsycINFO, AMED, and more
• View Tutorial
Additional Information Sources
Business/Administration
- Healthstar/Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new window Health services, technology, administration, and research
Consumer Health
Drug Therapy
Education
Physiotherapy
- PEDro This link opens in a new window Contains randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines.
Public Health
- HealthEvidence.org Searches multiple databases for systematic reviews on public health interventions.
- Public Health + Studies and systematic reviews in public health.
Sociology
- The Campbell CollaborationSystematic reviews in education, crime and justice, social welfare, and international development
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Containing articles in the field of sociology
Grey Literature
- Canadian Public Documents Collection This link opens in a new window Collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, university research centres.
Health and Community Statistics Information
- CANSIM This link opens in a new window CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is Statistics Canada's database of time series (sequences of values of a variable measured over time, spaced apart at uniform time intervals) covering a wide variety of social and economic aspects of Canadian life. Topics include the system of national accounts, labour, manufacturing, construction, trade, agriculture and finance. As well, selected demographic and social data, such as population estimates and vital statistics, are available. There is no charge for data via this interface. Geographic area: Canada (national and sub-national), some United States, some international. Time span of data coverage: varies by series.
- OECD iLibrary Health Statistics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries. Users can download this software and data onto their personal computers. To use in Mills Library, please consult: Mills, Data Services
2011 Canadian Census Information
Papers/Conference Proceedings
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1980- Indexes over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses completed at accredited North American and selected European colleges and universities. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350 word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150 word abstracts. Includes full-text access to many McMaster theses (send an email to request one). For other institutions, 24 page previews are available. In most cases, this will be graduate works published since 1997.
- ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
- PapersFirst This link opens in a new window An index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia received at the British Library Document Supply Centre.
All Databases Available Through McMaster Libraries
- Databases ListView all databases available to the McMaster University community. Filter by subject, database type, and/or user type.
