The 6S Pyramid
Off-Campus Access
The small lock icon 
beside a link indicates this is an online library resource. When you click on the resource link from off-campus you'll be redirected to a login page. Login using your MacID and password to access the content.
Meta-Searches
Meta-Searches search for evidence across multiple resources. These tools return information from all levels of the pyramid:
- Accessss This link opens in a new window Accessss (formerly MacPLUS) Federated Search is designed to find the best evidence-based answer to your clinical questions by simultaneously searching the leading evidence-driven medical publications and high quality clinical literature.
- SUMSearchUniversity of Kansas
- EpistemonikosMeta-searching in 9 languages.
EBM Toolbox
- EBM ToolsCentre for Evidence-Based Medicine, Oxford University
- AGREE II: Appraisal of Guidelines for Research and EvaluationDownloadable instrument for evaluating clinical practice guidelines.
- Inclusion CriteriaMcMaster guide to inclusion criteria for systematic reviews.
- Grey MattersGuide to searching the grey literature from CADTH
Still Searching?
Having trouble finding what you're looking for? Try expanding your search to include these grey literature and interdisciplinary databases:
Grey Literature
- ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window An index of conference publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia. Provides an overview of the event's activities by listing the papers presented.
Business/Administration
- Healthstar/Ovid Healthstar This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1966- Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
Education
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1966- Digital library of education resources, with citations to journal articles, books, papers, reports, theses, curricula, standards and guidelines. Includes 2 parts: RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993- ), are available for free through the US Dept. of Education. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center). Indexes journals (accession# start with EJ) and 'documents' (accession# start with ED). For Document fulltext, search titles in the open access ERIC (http://www.eric.ed.gov/).
Physiotherapy
- PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database Contains randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines.
Public Health
- HealthEvidence.org Searches multiple databases for systematic reviews on public health interventions.
- Public Health + Studies and systematic reviews in public health.
Sociology
- The Campbell Collaboration Systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, social welfare, and international development
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window The premiere database for locating articles in the field of sociology, Sociological Abstracts indexes some 1,800 international serial publications from 1952 to the present. Related disciplines include social and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth, non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Many records from key journals in sociology, published since 2001, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.
Systems
Integrating information from the lower levels of the hiearchy with individual patient records, systems represent the ideal source of evidence for clinical decision-making.
Summaries
Summaries are regularly updated clinical guidelines or textbooks that integrate evidence-based information about specific clinical problems.
Clinical Practice Guidelines
- CMO Standards of PracticeCollege of Midwives of Ontario
- SOGC Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologist of Canada.
Effective January 3, 2017, full access to JOGC content published after January 1, 2016 (including Clinical Practice Guidelines, Committee Opinions, Technical Updates, and all articles) is a benefit of SOGC membership. - Best Practice GuidelinesRegistered Nurses Association of Ontario (RNAO)
- CPG InfobaseCanadian Medical Association
- NICE Clinical GuidelinesNational Institute for Health and Clinical Evidence, UK
Evidence-Based Texts
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window Evidence-based reference tool of diseases, disorders, and symptoms including etiology, history and research findings, diagnosis, prognosis , treatment and prevention and drug information.
This link opens in a new window
- Clinical Key This link opens in a new window Provides access to Elsevier's medical and surgical reference books, journals and videos; First Consult point-of-care clinical monographs; all medical and surgical clinics of North America; MEDLINE abstracts; Clinical pharmacology drug monographs; Vitals- surgical, point-of-care content; the ClinicalTrials.gov database; Practice Guidelines and Patient education.
- Best Practice This link opens in a new window A decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion are combined and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Incorporates BMJ Clinical Evidence.
- This link opens in a new window
Synopses of Syntheses
Synopses of syntheses, summarize the information found in systematic reviews. By drawing conclusions from evidence at lower levels of the pyramid, these synopses often provide sufficient information to support clinical action.
- NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) DARE: Systematic reviews evaluating health care interventions and the delivery of health services. NHA EED: Studies examining two or more interventions and the costs and outcomes associated with them (i.e. Cost-benefit analyses, cost-utility analyses, and cost-effectiveness analyses). HTA: Completed and ongoing health technology assessments from around the world. Grey literature from 72 international health technology assessment organizations.
- HealthEvidence.org"Designed to provide quality research evidence to public health decision makers, saving you time by searching, screening, and rating the systematic review evidence to compile it in a free, searchable online registry."
Evidence-Based Abstract Journals
- Evidence-Based Midwifery Sign in at the top right corner of the journal homepage to access full text articles. Username: 861054 Password: monkey
Syntheses
Commonly referred to as a systematic review, a synthesis is a comprehensive summary of all the evidence surrounding a specific research question.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1999- The Library includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, methodology reviews, clinical trials, and more with a focus on evidence-based health care..
Synopses of Single Studies
Synopses of single studies summarize evidence from high-quality studies. The following evidence-based abstract journals are the best place to find this type of information:
- Evidence-Based Midwifery Sign in at the top right corner of the journal homepage to access full text articles. Username: 861054 Password: monkey
Single Studies
Studies represent unique research conducted to answer specific clincial questions.
Article Databases
Clinical Queries
The CINAHL, OVID (Medline, EMBASE, PsychINFO), and Pubmed databases can be searched using the Clinical Queries filter, limiting your results to specific clinical research areas: Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology)
For further information and tips on using the Clinical Queries filter, please visit the following links:
- PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window Pre-filtered PubMed searches for clinicians. Search by Clinical Study Category, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.
